Potato Soup VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
i really liked this recipe but i had to and salt and pepper.it was a little bland but really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is the first soup I've made and it was fantastic! I did alter it a little though, after reading some of the reviews. Instead of water I used chicken broth and did about 1 1/2 cups. I also scratched the celery and used broccoli and took out the powdered milk, and used red potatoes. At the end after I added the flour/milk mixture I also added a handful of grated sharp cheddar cheese and a little garlic. I do have the gritty taste others were mentioning, but I think that is due to the potatoes sitting for so long...as a potato lover, I can't complain though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This soup smelled REALLY yummy while it was cooking, but I just couldn't get past the powdered milk taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very good and easy!! The only thing I did differently was add a little pepper and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillianhour
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I loved this soup. It was a big hit in my house. I did not have the carrots so I omitted them by default. This was my first soup so I don't know what they should taste like but I loved it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillianhour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This soup was very bland. I added a few tried and true spices(garlic, basil..etc)and it still didn't make this worth the effort. I ended up adding some cheese to make it palatable and couldn't even make myself take leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was my first attempt at potato soup and I'm glad I used this recipe! It was so easy. I did not have the dry milk but it turned out perfect anyway. Next time I will try switching the water for chicken broth. I did add some seasoning for added flavor also. This was a wonderful recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is good. I wanted a thicker soup because I was serving it in bread bowls so after cooking the potatoes and vegetables, I partially blended it in the food processor. We felt like the soup was missing a little something but I didn't add the chicken bullion so that might be what it was. I also left out the dry milk powder because we didn't have any. Next time I would like to try using chicken broth instead of water to boil the vegetables. We enjoyed this recipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
The other reviews made this sound so great. Maybe I put too much potatoes or something cuz mine turned out very very very bland. So I added salt and pepper and a whole package of crisped bacon and some shredded cheese... Still pretty bland. Not too happy. My hub wont try it cuz I mentioned it wasnt turning out like I had hoped, and I hate to waste food so I guess I'll have to try to stomach it all myself over the next couple days. Ugh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
The first time around, I almost threw it away when I added the milk because I thought I screwed it up royally, but all I had to do was wait a few more minutes and keep stirring. Make sure you keep stirring and give it time. This soup is great because it's creamy and thick while still being low-fat. I tend to add a good amount of black pepper and garlic powder, and it makes a big difference. Just a touch of cheese on the top, and it's a filling meal that everyone enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States