Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This recipe was excellent! I did not want to use celery so I doubled the onion, added some left over ham and three slices of deli style american cheese! I couldn't wait to eat the leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This is the first time I've ever made potato soup and it was wonderful! I even left out the onions (don't like them) and celery (husband doesn't like it). My husband loves potato soup and gave this 5 stars. I also used a vegetable boullion cube instead of chicken. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
Excellent potato soup recipe. We've been making this one for years now and we can't get enough. We usually use dried celery flakes and mash the potatoes in the pot before serving. Mashing the potatoes produces a more consistant texture which we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Really good potato soup! My husband loved it and my three kids gobbled it up, too! I followed the recipe to the tee, expept I used whipping cream instead of 1/2 and 1/2! Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I'm sorry, but this soup recipe is not warrant 5 stars. I followed this recipe to the "T" and found it very bland. After adding wine, whole thyme leaves, nutmeg I found it much improved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This is a great potato soup and my family and friends have all loved it. I do make a few changes to make it even better. Cook about 10 pieces of bacon in the oven and use about 2 tablespoons of the oil from the bacon to add to the soup. Crumble the bacon to add as a garnish on top of the soup when you serve. Also add Mild Cheddar Cheese on top of soup and make sure it's about 2 tablespoons of cheese and bacon that you add on top. That makes the soup really good and everyone asks for seconds. Thanks!! Also - if you don't have celery which I didn't - add 2 to 3 shakes of celery salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
VERY good soup!! The only thing I will change next time is either leave out the celery, or dice it very fine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAPATTEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Well your recipes is great only when you add more flavor. I found just following your recipe no one would have wanted to eat it. I used bacon, cheese and chicken flavoring that I usually use on my fried chicken and also to give it some color carrots. You also need to add real salt along with the celery salt. More pepper doesn't hurt either. When I got done it tasted just like a loaded baked potato.. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
the best potato soup I have ever had and it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
A fantastically versital potatoe soup! With 12 of us living in our home I have to satisfy many different tastes! I crumbled bacon and shredded some cheddar and put it on the table for those that wanted it. Me and the kids loved it the way it was but my husband loves more spice. I added a teaspoon of thyme and some onion powder to his portion of the soup and set his favorite HOT sauce beside him so he could add what he wanted. EVERYONE was happy because the original is so easy to adapt to the individual. I served this soup w/a recipe I also got on this sight called CHEESE Biscuit I...Satisfying and filling and easy and YUMMY! I give 5 stars to any recipe that can please that many of us at once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States