Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This is a good potato soup if you make a few alterations. I omitted the celery. I added about 1 cup of cheese, a package of bacon (fried and crumbled) and added a few green onions. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! Once I added those things, it was extremely good. I will make this again (but only with those alterations!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
so simple! My husband asks for it everytime there's a nip in the air. It really is a breeze to make. Add a little milk to make it more soupy or leave it nice and thick. The fresh parsley gives it a nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Awesome soup recipe. I'm picky about potato soup recipes and this ranks up in my top 5 list! I've also added some shredded cheddar cheese in with the half and half to make it a cheesy potato soup. About 3/4 cup. Yummy! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by topcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
EXCELLENT POTATO SOUP! The only thing I added was some garlic powder and a hint more celery salt. I also semi-mashed up the potato mixture after it was cooked thoroughly to give the soup a thicker texture. When it was done, I took others' advice and topped it off with sharp cheddar and crumbled bacon for the boyfriend. He raved about it; said he could "eat it every day" and that I "hit the jackpot" with this recipe! He's not really a soup eater either, so I was very surprised. I ate it without the bacon and cheese and it was wonderful! Thanx Nell for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
i added ham and bacon to this and my family really likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe was great. I did change a few things, though. I used minced onion instead of fresh, and added extra boullion. Also added bacon, and instead of half of the butter, i used bacon grease. it added a great flavor to the soup. Also, since i can't stay away from the spice cabinet, i added garlic powder, onion powder, and more celery salt. At the end when you add half & half, I used evaporated milk instead. It was really good. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was by far the most amazing potato soup i have EVER had in my entire life. My boyfriend couldnt stop raving about it! The only change i made was using 1 can of chicken broth and then filling with water the rest of the way to cover the veggies. I also used chicken boullion granules instead of the cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Out of this world soup. My crew raved and raved over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This is the best potato soup!! Yummy! We could eat this for the rest of the winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Harrah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Wow, did this hit the spot! Perfect for tonight because the weather is very damp and rainy. I added some finely chopped carrots for added flavor. This is definetly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States