Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This is a good potato soup if you make a few alterations. I omitted the celery. I added about 1 cup of cheese, a package of bacon (fried and crumbled) and added a few green onions. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! Once I added those things, it was extremely good. I will make this again (but only with those alterations!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
so simple! My husband asks for it everytime there's a nip in the air. It really is a breeze to make. Add a little milk to make it more soupy or leave it nice and thick. The fresh parsley gives it a nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Awesome soup recipe. I'm picky about potato soup recipes and this ranks up in my top 5 list! I've also added some shredded cheddar cheese in with the half and half to make it a cheesy potato soup. About 3/4 cup. Yummy! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by topcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
EXCELLENT POTATO SOUP! The only thing I added was some garlic powder and a hint more celery salt. I also semi-mashed up the potato mixture after it was cooked thoroughly to give the soup a thicker texture. When it was done, I took others' advice and topped it off with sharp cheddar and crumbled bacon for the boyfriend. He raved about it; said he could "eat it every day" and that I "hit the jackpot" with this recipe! He's not really a soup eater either, so I was very surprised. I ate it without the bacon and cheese and it was wonderful! Thanx Nell for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
i added ham and bacon to this and my family really likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe was great. I did change a few things, though. I used minced onion instead of fresh, and added extra boullion. Also added bacon, and instead of half of the butter, i used bacon grease. it added a great flavor to the soup. Also, since i can't stay away from the spice cabinet, i added garlic powder, onion powder, and more celery salt. At the end when you add half & half, I used evaporated milk instead. It was really good. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was by far the most amazing potato soup i have EVER had in my entire life. My boyfriend couldnt stop raving about it! The only change i made was using 1 can of chicken broth and then filling with water the rest of the way to cover the veggies. I also used chicken boullion granules instead of the cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Out of this world soup. My crew raved and raved over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This is the best potato soup!! Yummy! We could eat this for the rest of the winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Harrah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Wow, did this hit the spot! Perfect for tonight because the weather is very damp and rainy. I added some finely chopped carrots for added flavor. This is definetly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States