Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I have made this soup several times and my family loves it. As another reviewer suggested, I saute the onions and celery in the butter until tender, before adding the flour and butter. I serve with crumbled bacon and shredded cheddar. Occasionally I add a big spoonful of nacho cheese sauce to my bowl for some yummy zip. This is a very versatile soup; so easy to adapt. It is also easy to double and provide a meal for another family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
We enjoyed this but next time I will add garlic along with the other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I doubled this recipe and didn't include the onions. I added 3 cups of left over ham from Easter and instead of using water to cover the veggies I used chicken broth and reduced the amount of boullion cubes. This was my first attempt at a potato soup and it turned out good. Total comfort food. I think I might try the tips about adding some bacon next time..get a bit more flavor. I did make the cheese biscuits with it ..a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenHazard
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I just made this soup and tweaked it to my liking. I added sharp cheese and ham the flavor is unbeliveable. It was very simple to make,not very time consuming at all now I am going to make the cheddar biscuits to go with it I Love this website it's my first time on it.Keep up the great recepies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brewerton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Perfect balance of tastes. Will certainly make again and again. Be careful not to cut your diced potatoes too big; a small bite size is good. Try adding a few finely chopped celery leaves for a little different texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Awesome potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duayna Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was very good and very easy to make. I did leave out the celery and celery salt just because I really don't like celery that much. Will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heilwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Great with carrots added as well. Warms the soul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
excellent. easy to make. i added a little cheese to the sauce and it turned out a bit creamier...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is the best potato soup that I have made. I have a large family and doubled recipe and also added ham. My youngest child is a picky eater and she even ate it. That makes this recipe a 5-star for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States