Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very easy and good taste. Just what I was craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Was a great recipe think it would have be bland by itself but 5 stars with changes. Wow, Warning non sodium users……….my chicken bouillon has 876 mg per tsp almost didn’t make this recipe. I added turkey bacon and a can of low sodium chicken broth a little bouillon. No Celery salt used seed instead I didn’t have celery. I cooked and then tweeked the spices after all was together. Added until I had a good flavor. I cut all the salt so had to add other stuff. Here’s what I did: doubled all the other spices in recipe, I fearfully added a couple shakes of Dash table blend and it was good, a few shakes of white pepper, thyme suggested by others (makes it a little ugly had to add some cracked black to cover up, freckly). I had a sprig of rosemary but cook whole and pulled out also ugly. Still was missing something so I added fennel seeds (quarter size) you will need to crush I may put a root in and pull out after cooking next time. The fennel made this soup. Don’t use whole seeds if you mind the bite. Try one plain. I added a cup of cheddar also sharp. Will try without thyme next time. Will also prepare my own broth extra strong. Note: Boil a chicken and the cook on low with spices needed for recipe and veges or left over veges. Leeks are really good the whole thing and greens from other veges. This I think would be a stronger flavor you could add a neck bone and some garlic cloves. Strain and its ready no salt WOW. I am going to make this soup with fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I added bacon and lots more cheese. REALLY good, but really fattening :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My family loved this. I made a couple slight changes. I added 2 Tbsp of Chesapeake Bay seasoning, 2 Tbsp Seasoning Salt,4 large garlic cloves (minced) and left out all the celery and celery salt and it was delicious. Add 1/2 lb. bacon. Cut slices into 3/4" strips and fry until crisp. Drain and add to soup just before adding milk and butter thickening sauce. Sprinkle with grated cheese at the table if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Delicious comfort food on a cold night! My children loved the soup. I served it with the cheese biscuit recipe on this site. The combo was an absolute hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mortons Gap, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I love this recipe! I do add 1C cubed ham near the end. I also melt 3-4 slices of deli american cheese (Land O Lakes works best), and 3T chopped fresh chives just before serving. It is spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was excellent.My husband is always raving about his grandma's potato soup, which I have never been able to match, try as I may, so I gave up long ago. She adds spaetzle to her's so I added that to this as well, so he keeps coming back again and again tasting it, then he wakes me up last night at like midnight and says that soup is awesome, better than my grandmas!!! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is a great recipe, I did not have any celery, so I used carrots instead. I also cooked bacon to a crisp and added it along with the green onions, after the soup was done. I added extra salt to it as well. My family thought it was soooooo good. I have added this to my recipe book and have also passed it on to my sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is a GREAT recipe!! The only changes I made were adding corn and a little more salt. Will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a great recipe for Potato Soup. I changed it because I didnt have the bouillon cube so I put a can of chicken stock in the water that covered the potatoes and onion. I also left out the celery. I chopped up about 10 potatoes instead of the 4 cups. I only used one cup of milk and a can of cream of chicken to add to the butter and flour. I mashed the potatoes so that it was slightly chunky and served it with sour cream and shredded cheese. This is definetely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Moody Afb, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States