Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Good recipe but I improved it a bit by: -Substituting a can of Cheddar Cheese soup for the 1/2 & 1/2. -added 1 teaspoon of bottled garlic -added 2 teaspoons of salt (who makes potato soup without salt?) -Instead of the butter, I cooked up 6 strips of thick sliced bacon. I removed the crispy bacon strips and crumbled them up. Added the flour to the bacon grease, then added the milk. Mixed it together with the crumbled bacon. Pretty awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anchovy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bexley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This was a hit with the family. This had a lot of "soup" and I wish there had been more potatoes as it seemed to need some body. I really didn't like this soup personally but I am super picky and the lack of body in the soup part, plus the celery and onion chunks, and I thought it was blah and needed cheese, bacon, and sour cream and would have much preferred my loaded baked potato soup. This was the cream of potato soup that my mom made and loved when I was growing up. I didn't like it then and I don't like it now. My husband loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a quick and simple soup with good flavor. If you're a fan of potato soup, I recommend this one since it's not overburdened with other flavors. Thanks for sharing. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This potato soup was very good!! My husband was sick so I was looking for a soup to make for him with the stuff I had on hand. I didn't use any celery since we hate celery (but did keep the celery salt) and I didn't have any half and half so I only used milk. I added a handful of cheese to my roux and this soup was very tasty. I'm very glad I found this as I will absolutely make it the same way over and over anytime our family gets sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I did it in my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Completely Awesome!I added corn and it was just amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
We really liked this soup, I gave 4 stars because I did have to change it just a bit to suit my pantry. I used Evaporated milk instead of half & half, because that's what I had on hand. Also, skipped the celery but used a little celery salt. Served with beer bread, it was a very good warm your soul kind of meal! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyJn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Fork, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I didnt use half and half because Im on a budget and not buying it at the moment. I used a can of evaporated milk instead and added 2% milk until I thought it was the right consistency. I didnt quite need all of the flour about 4 tablespoons. This was pretty good. Helped me get dinner on in a pinch. Id like to add ham or bacon next time it seemed like it needed something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
absolutely the best potato soup I have ever tasted. My whole family made lots of compliments on it. This was the first time I have ever made potato soup. The only change I did was double the recipe and add real bacon bits to the soup.....Lusious Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Left out the parsley and half-and-half, used two cups of whole milk and added five pieces of crumbled bacon. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States