Potato Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
We used this as a teacher's gift this year, but made a few revisions. I omitted the seasoned salt, turmeric and thyme. Instead, I added 3 tablespoons of Bacos (dried bacon bits) and 2 tablespoons of freeze dried chives. It is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Made a great gift!! Mixes up easily & quickly!Ended up making some for myself, as well. I found that 1 1/2 tsp. of seasoning salt was a bit too much, so I cut it back to 1 tsp and it still tasted really good. Next time, I will probably cut it back to 1/2 tsp. For Weight Watcher's, it works out to 3 points/serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
I found the seasoning a bit different but it was very good ! A great lunch at work. Just add a crusty roll and an apple and you're set for the rest of the work day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made this as a gift for my relatives this year and they all loved it! After some experimenting, I found that a few changes helped a lot. I cut waaaay back on the buillion- about 2-3 tsp per batch. I also cut down the seasoning salt- I'd rather let the recipient salt to taste. My biggest tip- once the mix is made, run it through a blender or food processor until it makes a nice even powder. This makes a MUCH smoother soup- less like mashed potatoes, more like soup. It cuts the volume exactly in half, so be sure to change the directions from 1/2 cup mix to 1/4 cup. It fit perfectly in pint jars. I'll use this method again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I left out the thyme, turmeric, and seasonsing salt but added celery flakes, garlic powder and sea salt. I also tried a variation by adding two tablespoons of cheddar cheese powdered sauce mix....good soup! I made it for a hostess gift and look forward to her trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Not too bad. A great idea for a gift and I even take it to work with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I made this soup mix for my MIL, who can't tolerate any milk products, with powdered soy milk. I tested a cupful and discovered that the soy milk is just fine, but the sodium is too high... very salty. Also, when using a half cup of the mix as the directions call for, when it cools even slightly, it is like eating mashed potatoes, not soup. Don't know for a fact but am guessing that the soy milk wouldn't cause that problem... so i suggest cutting WAY back on the seasoned salt and starting out with 1/4 cup mix to make it more like soup. Other than the salt, it has very nice flavor. To solve the sodium problem, I just made a second batch, left out the seasoned salt althogether and mixed the two together. Thanks for a nice recipe that I can send to my widowed MIL who lives alone and doesn't like to cook much... this will give her many nice little meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Very easy to make in large quantities and very well received as a gift. I made extra and keep it at work also, great flavor and a surprising kick to it. Agree with the other reviewer that some may prefer less seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made these into gifts for co-workers. The soup is thinner than I expected, but am not familiar in cooking with instant potatoes. It isn't something I would typically cook for myself or my family. I think it would be better if you added some solid ingredients. This is something I would probably drink in place of chicken noodle soup/broth when I am feeling under the weather. Although, I really like the fact it is quick and just need to add water if you were in a rush. Perfect for those times at work when I can't get away and have just a few minutes to get something in my tummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Great taste! I used low sodium boullion to reduce the salt instead of changing seasonings. I keep it on hand for cool days or for camping. Nothing easier than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States