Potato Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I did not like this soup! I'm so glad I tried it before making it and giving it as gifts this holiday season! It has a very "instant" flavor, which even though it basically is instant, I didn't expect with the good reviews it received. The consistancey is very thin and nothing like any potato soup I have ever had. Sorry, but not a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I was pleasantly suprised! Good to have on hand for a cold, lazy night. I used onion powder instead, and cut back on both the bouillon and seasoning salt just a little after reading other reviews, and it was good. This recipe could really benefit from a sprinkle of sliced green onions or chives and crumbled bacon, but is really just fine as is. And does it have any fat?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I made this soup mix for my MIL, who can't tolerate any milk products, with powdered soy milk. I tested a cupful and discovered that the soy milk is just fine, but the sodium is too high... very salty. Also, when using a half cup of the mix as the directions call for, when it cools even slightly, it is like eating mashed potatoes, not soup. Don't know for a fact but am guessing that the soy milk wouldn't cause that problem... so i suggest cutting WAY back on the seasoned salt and starting out with 1/4 cup mix to make it more like soup. Other than the salt, it has very nice flavor. To solve the sodium problem, I just made a second batch, left out the seasoned salt althogether and mixed the two together. Thanks for a nice recipe that I can send to my widowed MIL who lives alone and doesn't like to cook much... this will give her many nice little meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made this for my grandmother for christmas last year and she is always asking for the recipe and wants me to make her more. She has a lot of food sensitivities and this was great for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This was very very salty. The combination of the bouilion and the salt was too much. I loved the idea but this was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
What a concept,loved it tasty,cheap,convinient,and best of all delicious. Does anyone know how to make cream soups the same way.Boop9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Great taste! I used low sodium boullion to reduce the salt instead of changing seasonings. I keep it on hand for cool days or for camping. Nothing easier than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
We used this as a teacher's gift this year, but made a few revisions. I omitted the seasoned salt, turmeric and thyme. Instead, I added 3 tablespoons of Bacos (dried bacon bits) and 2 tablespoons of freeze dried chives. It is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is very quick and easy! But, there is way to much salt in this recipe! Next time I will try it with out the extra season salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I was surprised ... this is a very good potato soup. The seasonings really make it very tasty. I will be giving these away as gifts this Christmas ... great for coworkers for a good quick lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States