Potato Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I made a jar of this for each of my family members for Christmas. Being from a Norwegian family, potato soup is a big part of our meals, and this was a BIG hit! The only thing I changed was I used less thyme. It was a bit over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I followed JACKIESS1's suggestion on omitting some seasoning and adding Bacos and chives. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I left out the thyme, turmeric, and seasonsing salt but added celery flakes, garlic powder and sea salt. I also tried a variation by adding two tablespoons of cheddar cheese powdered sauce mix....good soup! I made it for a hostess gift and look forward to her trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I made this today to try for gifts and was very impressed! I didn't use the season salt, thyme or tuneric. I also added some bacos as suggested, 3Tablespoons was too much for me. More like 1 1/2 does the trick. I also didn't use onion flakes but did use the onion powder. It is a bit runny so extra flakes are good if you want. I'm putting together a "winter survival kit" for my friends and family. I think this one will be a hit, just add water and your good to go! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This soup turned out very runny, so I added extra potato flakes and a little extra dried milk. The did not like the chunks of onion in the soup, so I think next time I'll use onion powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Great recipe -- it makes for a tasty soup. I actually make this regularly, just to have on hand for myself at work. I don't find it hearty or balanced enough to work as a meal in and of itself, but I love it as an addition to salad and a sandwich, or as a mid-afternoon snack. Cheap and easy to make in advance, and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This soup is a quick and easy gift idea. I am not a huge potato soup lover but I did make a sample before giving it away. I think I would like it better without the turmeric. I did add some dried chives as posted by someone else. It definitely taste better when it is doctored up with cheddar cheese and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is very good and there is plenty of room to experiment with the spices. Use very hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyriclady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was good, but I had to add more then 1/2 cup of mix to make it like I like it. I ended up adding abour 3/4 cup mix to 1 cup boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I thought this was great, easy to make and it tastes good too. I did make some changes after reading other reviews though: I increased the minced onion to 1 tablespoon, and used 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder instead of the thyme, turmeric, and seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States