Potato Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is not bad for potato flakes and powdered milk. I did not use the turmeric (did have any) or thyme. I did add dried chives, garlic powder and bacon bits and had 8 - 1/2 cup servings + a little extra. Thanks for a quick and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent! I made it as gifts and put it in plastic jars from the dollar store. Easy to change around the seasonings if you like different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I mix my powders in a plastic bag so I can crush the clumps dry milk up more easily. If I give these as gifts, I'll probably put them in individual snack baggies, so I know everything is incorporated right. I personally still need to play around w/ the amount of powder vs water I like best, but it hits the spot for a quick snack at the office (I just use the hot water from the coffee machine and make it in my mug: so easy!), and is so much cheaper/healthier than canned soup! (Of course I learned the hard way tho that you MUST add POWDER FIRST, then water!) Perfect for Vegetarians when using veggie bouillon, or just omitting the bouillon and adding more salt/spices instead! Also a perfect way to get rid of that dry milk that I bought for one recipe, and was at a loss at how to use up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I wish I would have reserved some of this to try but I shipped it off to my FIL. He can't have much sodium so I used low sodium bullion and left out the seasoning salt. I did add several tbsp of chives and it looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I'm not quite sure how I feel about this soup. It tastes good but when I think of potato soup, I expect something super thick but this came out extremely runny using the ratio of mix to water that they give you. I ended up adding more mix to thicken it up but it's still pretty ruuny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miremba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This soup turned out well, but was quite salty. I wished I followed other's advice and used less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is some good stuff! We added 1/2 tsp. celery salt and 1 TBSP. dried chives. The chives are not only a tasty addition, but the deep green specks looked really pretty in the jars. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I really liked this soup mix, i did make the changes to it that the other users suggested, I added about 1/2 cup more potato flakes, I did leave in the thyme, but i took out the seasoned salt and the tumeric, and i used onion powder instead of minced onion, and also added about 1 tsp celery seed, 2 tbsp. bacon bits, and 2 tbsp. dried chives. Very Yummy and makes a great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I made a jar of this for each of my family members for Christmas. Being from a Norwegian family, potato soup is a big part of our meals, and this was a BIG hit! The only thing I changed was I used less thyme. It was a bit over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I followed JACKIESS1's suggestion on omitting some seasoning and adding Bacos and chives. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States