Potato Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made four servings for a fast family dinner and added 1 cup frozen corn and 1 can 15oz white potatos (cubed) great fast meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I agree with some of the other posters, this has way too much salt. I used crushed up veggie bollion cubes instead of chicken (I'm a vegetarian). Perhaps the salt from these were higher than regular chicken bollion cubes? I also added some garlic powder to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is not bad for potato flakes and powdered milk. I did not use the turmeric (did have any) or thyme. I did add dried chives, garlic powder and bacon bits and had 8 - 1/2 cup servings + a little extra. Thanks for a quick and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent! I made it as gifts and put it in plastic jars from the dollar store. Easy to change around the seasonings if you like different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I mix my powders in a plastic bag so I can crush the clumps dry milk up more easily. If I give these as gifts, I'll probably put them in individual snack baggies, so I know everything is incorporated right. I personally still need to play around w/ the amount of powder vs water I like best, but it hits the spot for a quick snack at the office (I just use the hot water from the coffee machine and make it in my mug: so easy!), and is so much cheaper/healthier than canned soup! (Of course I learned the hard way tho that you MUST add POWDER FIRST, then water!) Perfect for Vegetarians when using veggie bouillon, or just omitting the bouillon and adding more salt/spices instead! Also a perfect way to get rid of that dry milk that I bought for one recipe, and was at a loss at how to use up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I wish I would have reserved some of this to try but I shipped it off to my FIL. He can't have much sodium so I used low sodium bullion and left out the seasoning salt. I did add several tbsp of chives and it looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I'm not quite sure how I feel about this soup. It tastes good but when I think of potato soup, I expect something super thick but this came out extremely runny using the ratio of mix to water that they give you. I ended up adding more mix to thicken it up but it's still pretty ruuny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miremba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This soup turned out well, but was quite salty. I wished I followed other's advice and used less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is some good stuff! We added 1/2 tsp. celery salt and 1 TBSP. dried chives. The chives are not only a tasty addition, but the deep green specks looked really pretty in the jars. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I really liked this soup mix, i did make the changes to it that the other users suggested, I added about 1/2 cup more potato flakes, I did leave in the thyme, but i took out the seasoned salt and the tumeric, and i used onion powder instead of minced onion, and also added about 1 tsp celery seed, 2 tbsp. bacon bits, and 2 tbsp. dried chives. Very Yummy and makes a great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States