Potato Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I used this recipe as a base and made it more to our tastes. I added 2 cups of instant mashed potato flakes (whoops), replaced the minced onion with a combo of onion powder (1/4 teaspoon) and 1 heaping teaspoon of dried chives, added 1/4 teaspoon of dried garlic and left out the turmeric. I blended everything together in the food processor thoroughly. It was editable but we won't have again. It was super salty and the seasoning salt flavors did not complement the others. Oh well, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I make this a lot. Especially at Christmas time for gifts. I add additional salt and pepper in the mix and haven't put in the turmeric because I have never had it on hand. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Crafty! My grandmother is in and out of the hospital a lot but does her best to be very independent. She also likes to have potato soup! Given her restrictive diet she also has to know exactly what the nutritional value of a meal is. I saw this recipe elsewhere but thank goodness for Allrecipe! Now when she doesn't feel like fussing over a meal she can put this together quick and not worry about throwing her diet out of whack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
After my first batch, I put the milk through a food processor before all the other ingredients. I found the milk did not want to dissolve as quickly as the other ingredients. I also added grated parmasean/romano cheese and cut back on the salt. The buillon was salty enough. Great idea and so glad I found this recipe. My first time to do "gifts in a jar" and a winner on my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
way to salty,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This soup was just okay. I omitted the turmeric, used black pepper instead of white, and added a generous amount of dried chives, but it was still pretty flavorless. I didn't end up giving these out as gifts, so I gave the rest of my test batch to a group of young single soldiers. Of course, they LOVED it. Perfect for young, single folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I made the mistake of using seasoned potato flakes, and the soup was too salty. Next time I will use plain potato flakes or omit the salt. Good flavor, just too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This soup mix rocks! I have a widowed sister-in-law who always requests a BIG jar or tub of this mix for her birthday and Christmas. I keep some for a fast, easy lunch and if I want to "fancy" it up a bit, I add some grated cheese, bacon bits, sliced green onions, and sometimes a tablespoon or so of sour cream. My SIL makes it for dinner at least once a week with a green salad and fruit. Says it keeps her sane when cooking for one! Thank you for sharing this recipe, we have made it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made this as a gift for my relatives this year and they all loved it! After some experimenting, I found that a few changes helped a lot. I cut waaaay back on the buillion- about 2-3 tsp per batch. I also cut down the seasoning salt- I'd rather let the recipient salt to taste. My biggest tip- once the mix is made, run it through a blender or food processor until it makes a nice even powder. This makes a MUCH smoother soup- less like mashed potatoes, more like soup. It cuts the volume exactly in half, so be sure to change the directions from 1/2 cup mix to 1/4 cup. It fit perfectly in pint jars. I'll use this method again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made these into gifts for co-workers. The soup is thinner than I expected, but am not familiar in cooking with instant potatoes. It isn't something I would typically cook for myself or my family. I think it would be better if you added some solid ingredients. This is something I would probably drink in place of chicken noodle soup/broth when I am feeling under the weather. Although, I really like the fact it is quick and just need to add water if you were in a rush. Perfect for those times at work when I can't get away and have just a few minutes to get something in my tummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States