Potato Soup IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Even though my husband gave it a four, I'm giving it a five, because I liked the addition of thyme, and I thought the flavors of chicken broth, potatoes, & herbs went very well together. I added a sweet potato and really liked the added depth and density. I also added 1/4 teaspoon fresh rosemary and about a teaspoon of onion powder. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
This soup was wonderful -- I substituted 1 c. cream for 1 c. of the milk, and also added wild rice and buillion that had boiled separately for 40 minutes or so. When I blended 1/2 of the soup, this blended wild rice added some nice color, as well. Very yummy, very simple. I will try this as a base for clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This recipe is fantastic everyone loved it instant family favorite! Wonderful with cheese and herbed bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This is a very good soup on a fall/winter day. Instead of using a blender, I just used my "old fashioned" potato masher right in the pot. It was easy to regulate how many chunked potatoes you want left in the soup. I topped mine with cheese, bacon and scallions. If the soup seems too thin, just add a little bit of instant mashed potatoes to thicken. A keeper recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This recipe is the best potato soup ever!!! Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Delicious, I love this soup so much I made it one day after winter exams and Oh My God, that was so comforting!!!!! Soooooo tasty and warm, i almost ate the whole batch myself, but unfortunately, my dad wanted some. Anyways thanks, it's so good and one of the lowest in fat i've had. Tops to you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josee RC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
This was an easy soup to make from what I already had on hand. I used fat free milk, as that's all we keep around. My picky family (husband, 6 and 4-year olds) LOVED it. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
WOW!!!! This was so UNBELIEVABLY good!!!!!!!!!! A HUGE hit with my entire family, who normally does not even comment on what they are served. Rave reviews from my husband and kids! Will definitely make again. Omitted the parsley (didn't have any) and used chicken boullion with water in place of the stock. It was quite exceptional!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Excellent potato soup base. I added about 3 oz of cream cheese. I also topped with bacon, cheese, and the fresh parsley. Everyone gulped it up and asked for seconds. I had a bunch left over the next day for lunch as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I have made this soup several times and it is always a hit for my wife and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States