Potato Soup IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup! I used dried unions, and fat-free milk, and topped it with an aged cheddar and a chopped tomato-- delicious! I'll certainly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Great soup! I used vegetarian boullion since we have an herbivore in the house, but cooked up some bacon for the meat-eaters to sprinkle in. I started by just mashing the potatoes as several other reviewers did, but the soup seemed really thin when I was done. So almost all of it went in to the blender, which thickened it up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is the best potato soup recipe! I only made one small change; I added one chopped shallot to the onion & garlic. The soup was so rich and flavorful, and it had the perfect consistency. I'm already looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Great and easy recipe. Added in a dash of cayenne, used red potatoes, and garnished with some fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intellichick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very good as is but for our tastes I added 3 ounces of Cream Cheese with chives which made a thick texture so no mashing or blending was needed~ a couple chicken boullen cubes and a few spinkles of cayenne and a packet of precooked bacon bits! Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very good, better if you add some vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Thyme is one of my favorite herb seasonings - so I used both dried and fresh in this soup and wasn't disappointed. I added carrot for additional color and found that using a potato masher gave me the texture that I liked.. I followed the suggestion of the recipe poster and served with shredded cheese. So good on a cool, rainy evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was a really good soup. The only thing I didn't like was that it didn't have much flavor - that was my fault. My chicken stock was not very salty, because I don't add bouillon or other salts to it - I didn't salt the soup much, but it would certainly have benefitted from some sour cream, chives or other such flavoring that doesn't add a ton of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was the best potato soup I have ever had. It was creamy and rich with only milk. I LOVED it we added bacon and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States