Potato Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lovísa Jernsletten
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
It was great. Although I did decide to skip the potato flakes because I simply didn't have any. I also fried a third of the bacon for garnish, as well as add chives right before serving for the same reason. We used the corn and were not disappointed. Will definitely make again! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovísa Jernsletten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akureyri, Norðurland Eystra, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I thought the soup was really great, and then I added the potato flakes. Eh kind of killed the flavor. It was still good but it was better before I added it. My family really liked it I just couldn't get over the processed taste of the instant taters. Guess I'm not a fan of potato flakes. Didn't know that. I left out the corn because of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was quite bland. I added garlic, but it definitely needs something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
It is freezing here in Colorado and this sounded great. Had to cut the recipe in half due to lack of potatoes. It came out fabulous. Was short onion but strangely I had green onion and that worked well. Don't like corn in soup so omitted. Kids, picky teens, loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
My husband, oldest daughter and I all enjoy this recipe. We do not add the corn but the rest of the recipe is perfect for our taste. This is the only potato soup I will make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Attica, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Blanchard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is the best potato soup ever. My wife said it's the best she's had too. Better than my mom makes. It has a sweet taste I've never experienced in a soup before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pierceton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good...and to make it even quicker you can use 2 cans of sliced potatoes. Next time a may try a little less potato flakes. It was a hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I don't care much for soups but even I like this one. Instead of milk I used heavy whipping cream and left out the potatoe flakes. I didn't have any bacon but even without it the soup was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great soup recipe but I omitted the corn and potato flakes. The soup thickens the next day and is even better than the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I felt it tasted like runny mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States