Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was really, really good! I used only three cups of water instead of four, and added a little extra potato flakes to make it thicker. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowkitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
very very good soup and easy to make... but i added 1 c. of sour cream to give it a nice bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This soup recipe is excellent with some minor alterations. I add more potato flakes to make it thicker and add browned pork sausage to make it more hardier. My husband loves it. And I recommend it to all my friends/co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Love this so much that I could have eaten the entire pot myself! I modified it by reducing the milk to 3 cups, added some veggie broth, a tablespoon of chicken base, celery and a 1 inch chunk of Velveeta. It was one of the best potato soups I've ever eaten. Serve with some crunchy toasted bread such as Italian or French.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snackcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Solsberry, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
The whole family loved this one -- I omitted the carrots and the bacon fat, but all else was as is -- delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Excellent! I cooked the potatoes with fresh minced garlic. Couldn't really taste it so at the end I added garlic salt and it made a huge difference. My 10 year old daughter couldn't stop tasting it! She said it sounded gross, but tasted awesome! A previous post stated that she thought you should drain the water from the potatoes, but the directions didn't say to. That is because you should NOT drain it. I added more instant potatoes than called for. I will definately make this again, especially in winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curttori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Delicious! I made potato soup for the first time by request, and it was SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was a very tasty soup. I added more instant potato flakes because I wanted it a little thicker. A good add in would be sauteed chicken breast cut into cubes. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This was great! I can't wait to make it in colder weather.. I made the following changes to my own taste.. Used less onion since I am not a huge fan. Omitted the carrot and parsley because I didn't have any. Used corn starch instead of potato flakes because I didn't have those either. Added half a clove of minced garlic. Threw in some sauteed asparagus chopped into bite-sized pieces we needed to use up. Added a handful or so of grated chedder/jack mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
MMMMMMMMMMMM Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States