Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This was great! I can't wait to make it in colder weather.. I made the following changes to my own taste.. Used less onion since I am not a huge fan. Omitted the carrot and parsley because I didn't have any. Used corn starch instead of potato flakes because I didn't have those either. Added half a clove of minced garlic. Threw in some sauteed asparagus chopped into bite-sized pieces we needed to use up. Added a handful or so of grated chedder/jack mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This recipe turned out very bland and runny. I think I was supposed to drain the potatoes and onions after cooking instead of just adding the other ingredients to them, but the directions never said that. Anyway, I ended up just adding more flakes and puree'ing the whole thing to make a creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was okay, but nothing to write home about, so I made a couple of changes: cooked the onion in a little bacon grease to carmelize a little and bump up the flavor a little, and when I served it, I sprinkled shredded cheddar and more crumbled bacon on top, then a small dollop of sour cream in the center. Gave it a sort of "potato wedges" flavor and more depth. It needed it. Gave it like this to husband for lunch. He said it was fine, but when asked, he would have prefered a corn chowder or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this according to the recipe up to adding the 4 cups of milk. I couldn't see how 3T of potato flakes could thicken that much liquid in addition to the cooking liquid. So I only added 2 cups of milk. It was still really thin so I thickened it with flour. After tasting, I added some chicken bouillion and then 5 slices of Am. cheese. It was then OK, but nothing special. The bacon flavor wasn't very prominent...and the bacon pieces were chewy. If I made it again, I would save the bacon to crumble on top. And the T of butter didn't add anything but calories IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was a very tasty soup. I added more instant potato flakes because I wanted it a little thicker. A good add in would be sauteed chicken breast cut into cubes. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
A great hearty recipe for a tight budget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I don't cook much and when I get the chance to cook I always want to try something new. This is the first time I've tried a recipe from your website and I must say it was most helpful. The soup eventually turned out great and all my 8 guests loved it. I will surely cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
MMMMMMMMMMMM Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This was a fairly good recipe. I added sour cream and chicken boulion cubes. My husband thought that it was great and the kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Harrah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Realy good but I thought it was missing something so I added some chicken bouion to it and some flour I put th flour in a jar with a tight fitting lid and added some flour and a little bit of water to make a "paste" ) to help thicken it up and it was great it went so fast. We will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States