Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Very good, but watery. When it says to cover potatoes and onion with water that could vary. Mine turn out running, but I just added more potato flakes to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this according to the recipe up to adding the 4 cups of milk. I couldn't see how 3T of potato flakes could thicken that much liquid in addition to the cooking liquid. So I only added 2 cups of milk. It was still really thin so I thickened it with flour. After tasting, I added some chicken bouillion and then 5 slices of Am. cheese. It was then OK, but nothing special. The bacon flavor wasn't very prominent...and the bacon pieces were chewy. If I made it again, I would save the bacon to crumble on top. And the T of butter didn't add anything but calories IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe is awesome! Easy, economical and delicious. A great base recipe to build off. I deviated a bit from the recipe by adding a chicken bouillon cube and I used a can of diced carrots. Using potato flakes instead of flour to thicken made such a difference in taste and consistency. This was a big hit with my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I really enjoyed this soup however it was just a little bland so I added some chicken soup base and it came out fantastic. Will make this soup again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was really, really good! I used only three cups of water instead of four, and added a little extra potato flakes to make it thicker. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowkitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
The recipe was good but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This was great! I can't wait to make it in colder weather.. I made the following changes to my own taste.. Used less onion since I am not a huge fan. Omitted the carrot and parsley because I didn't have any. Used corn starch instead of potato flakes because I didn't have those either. Added half a clove of minced garlic. Threw in some sauteed asparagus chopped into bite-sized pieces we needed to use up. Added a handful or so of grated chedder/jack mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This was a fairly good recipe. I added sour cream and chicken boulion cubes. My husband thought that it was great and the kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Harrah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
The whole family loved this one -- I omitted the carrots and the bacon fat, but all else was as is -- delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
very very good soup and easy to make... but i added 1 c. of sour cream to give it a nice bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States