Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Very good, but watery. When it says to cover potatoes and onion with water that could vary. Mine turn out running, but I just added more potato flakes to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this according to the recipe up to adding the 4 cups of milk. I couldn't see how 3T of potato flakes could thicken that much liquid in addition to the cooking liquid. So I only added 2 cups of milk. It was still really thin so I thickened it with flour. After tasting, I added some chicken bouillion and then 5 slices of Am. cheese. It was then OK, but nothing special. The bacon flavor wasn't very prominent...and the bacon pieces were chewy. If I made it again, I would save the bacon to crumble on top. And the T of butter didn't add anything but calories IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe is awesome! Easy, economical and delicious. A great base recipe to build off. I deviated a bit from the recipe by adding a chicken bouillon cube and I used a can of diced carrots. Using potato flakes instead of flour to thicken made such a difference in taste and consistency. This was a big hit with my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I really enjoyed this soup however it was just a little bland so I added some chicken soup base and it came out fantastic. Will make this soup again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was really, really good! I used only three cups of water instead of four, and added a little extra potato flakes to make it thicker. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowkitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
The recipe was good but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This was great! I can't wait to make it in colder weather.. I made the following changes to my own taste.. Used less onion since I am not a huge fan. Omitted the carrot and parsley because I didn't have any. Used corn starch instead of potato flakes because I didn't have those either. Added half a clove of minced garlic. Threw in some sauteed asparagus chopped into bite-sized pieces we needed to use up. Added a handful or so of grated chedder/jack mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This was a fairly good recipe. I added sour cream and chicken boulion cubes. My husband thought that it was great and the kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Harrah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
The whole family loved this one -- I omitted the carrots and the bacon fat, but all else was as is -- delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
very very good soup and easy to make... but i added 1 c. of sour cream to give it a nice bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States