Potato Soup a la Inge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
What a nice warm soup on a cold February day. I left out some of the water because it seemed like it was getting too thin, but other than that I followed the recipe to a tee, and it was a great lunch for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a decent tasting soup, but a bit simple, and fairly watery. I used Russet Burbank potatoes, which were barely medium-sized, so if I made this again, I'd use 5 pretty large potatoes to get the proportions more to my liking. I made this exactly as written, although I took the suggestion to add bacon, and put some Oscar Meyer "Real Bacon Recipe Pieces" in the soup. Also, the serving count for me came out to 5 pretty big bowls. Lastly, my palate wasn't sensitive enough to detect the garlic and nutmeg, so I found such small amounts to be superfluous here (although I relished the chance to use my new "dash" and "pinch" measuring spoons!). Overall, this was a decent soup to have on snowy winter days, but nothing outstanding, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
My family liked this soup, but for those of us not experts in quarts, pints, etc. and obviously not experts in cooking it was a drag to convert (especially when trying to teach children). We added more potatoes and left over Christmas turkey. Also added shredded cheese as suggested...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Medina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very good recipe but I like a very thick hardy soup so I added instant mashed potato flakes to it along with margarine. I also added more garlic and some minced dried onions even though I had already used chopped onion. Minced dried onions and garlic go together so well and give depth to many recipes. If it had not been for my additions I would hve rated it a 5. As I fixed it the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
overall its nice... this kinda soup should b watery. try add some egg white and a little dark soya sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I liked this soup. To my mind, ANY soup that includes GARLIC in its ingredient list is fine with me. And, to my mind, its consistency was better than good if you followed the recipe. You didn't like it? Too bland? Then ADD what YOU like (corn, carrots, peas, potatoes, beans, celery, onions, etc.; salt, pepper (red, black, white), bay leaf, tarragon, thyme, cumin, marjoram, sage, etc.) I, personally, liked the effect the NUTMEG had on this recipe. I've been cooking for over 40 years and I LOVE making soups (reduce the liquids and call it "stew"). And one of the things I have learned about cooking (and making soups/stews) is that if you like what you put into it you will like what you get out of it. JMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
This was nice and tasty, and everyone loved it. but it was quite watery so i had to put it in a mixer. i sure would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
I was quite dissapointed. This soup was very watery and tasteless. Would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
Needs more potatos but otherwise and easy, excellent soup. Try adding shredded cheese and sour cream as a garnish with the bacon. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States