Potato Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
2 days before thanksgiving, I baked 1 loaf of large white bread, and cubed it to get stale. The day before, i fried 1 pack of sweet sausage, then added 2 red bell peppers chopped in the food processor, then added 2 small onions, then 5 small peeled and diced potatoes. The day of, i used the left over ham w/ its broth (chicken billion) added the meat and veggies along w a few cups of water a beef bouillon and sazon in the slow cooker for a few hours while the turkey cooked, then added all the bread the last hour of turkey cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
OMG! This recipe is the best I have ever tasted and I have tasted many versions of stuffing. My friend (who is a vegetarian) said this dish had such a great aroma, she made with Smart Sausage (no meat sausage). Nothing against this sausage brand, but she said the aroma of her version was not good as the author "Carolyn's" version. Thanks Carolyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have never liked stuffing in the past but boy is this good!!! You have to try it. I use jimmy dean sausage w/ sage and put in slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNI932000
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Added one tall glass of chicken stock. Andy wants more celery. Made gravy in the pan the sausage cooked in. Needed the gravy would have been dry without it. Added mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was awesome. In my family there is a preferance from both side, my mother does a very dry stuffing and my mother-in-law does a wet stuffing. this was a very happy medium. my nephew said he would have taken the leftovers home, if there was any. a definate hit. I too cooked it in the slow cooker so I added approx. 1 cup of chicken broth. cooked it on low for 3 hrs, came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was fantastic! I did however add about 1/2c chicken stock to the bread/sausage mixture. My family prefers a moist dressing. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
My family loves this. Sometimes I just use stove-top stuffing instead of bread cubes and seasoning and that's good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I think this is going to be my usual Thanksgiving Day stuffing recipe from now on. I made the dish "veggie" by using vegetarian style sausage instead of meat sausage (cuts down a lot on saturated fat and calories too!). I use the kind in a roll, and prepare it by chopping the uncooked sausage into bite-sized pieces and then saute until browned. This keeps it from having a sticky, squishy texture. I also added some vegetable broth to keep it moist, seasoned with McCormick brand poultry seasoning, and used soft potato bread cubes. I used red skinned potatoes and kept the skins on, for extra fiber and color. I got compliments on how moist and flavorful it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Excellent stuffing!! It was a big hit at Thanksgiving. My family requested I make it this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made this for thanksgiving, I used homemade sage rosemary sausage.My friends and family all loved it. Will use this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States