Potato Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I love this recipe! What a great switch from the old boring way of making salmon patties! Here's where I am confused... it seems so many allrecipes fans don't actually "rate" the recipe as submitted but instead, totally rewrite the whole recipe to suit themselves and then give themseles four or five stars. Is this how it's done? I thought we were to rate a recipe based on the ingredients listed and not a "new" recipe that's been tweaked to death until it's nothing like the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
681 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissajean
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
These were delicious and fun to make. I used this as a base and tweaked the recipe heavily to my liking. I baked some fresh salmon and shredded it instead of using the canned salmon. Mixed in 1/2 cup of panko bread crumbs, eggs and 2 sliced green onions instead of regular onion. Added 1 tbsp each of dijon and lemon juice and a few dashes of hot pepper sauce and salted to taste. Also added about 1/2 cup of shredded hash browns. No celery seed or dill. Formed patties with wet hands and dipped in more panko before frying in olive oil. Served with a lemon caper sauce from another cooking website (1 cup mayo, 1/4 cup each chopped chives and Italian parsley, 2 tbsp each minced shallot and lemon juice, 1 tbsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp hot pepper sauce and 2 tbsp minced capers). It definitely needs a sauce with it. Next time I will try a dill sauce. They were not dry at all-I had to turn them gingerly in the pan because they were so moist. An interesting way to cook salmon. I uploaded my photo of the recipe. Yummy!Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
485 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
These were great and we liked them better than the recipe I've been using for several years. I doubled the recipe and per other reviewers' recommendations, I sprinkled in some shredded cheddar cheese. Because it was a little dry, I added some milk. Because we try to avoid fried foods, I used a 1/4 cup and scooped them into muffin tins that had been shot with a quick spray of oil. I baked them at 350º for about 40 mins. I served them with lemon sauce from this site. Fantastic recipe, Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Great patties! The only change I made was baking them on a baking sheet (10 minutes for each side) instead of frying them. I had never used celery salt for anything else than tomato juice and cubed appetizer cheese: huge mistake! It really adds an interesting flavor to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These were delicious! I used real mashed potatoes (with no butter or milk)instead of the flakes. They were not a bit dry. Will definitely make time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Very good recipe! I actually doubled the recipe, took out all the bones & skin after draining the cans of salmon. I used fresh dill, ritz cracker crumbs, a little old bay seasoning, green onions (only 3 chopped up finely) and I didn't have any potato flakes, so I threw in a couple of handfulls of frozen hash browns, and made large patties (hamburger sized). I fried them in canola oil in my electric skillet until they were good & brown & crispy. They were just delicious! These are great on a hamburger bun with mayo, tomato & lettuce, and I even ate a few of the leftovers for lunch today just with some cucumber ranch dressing and no hamburger bun! Just as good leftover, but not as crispy after warming in the microwave, but just as tastey! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya28574

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richlands, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
My family and I LOVED these patties! I made a few adjustments according to other reviews - fresh celery, an 1/8 c. sharp cheddar, plain bread crumbs with Mrs. Dash and a splash of lemon juice - wow, they tasted sooo yummy. Not fishy at all and flaked while it melted in our mouths. There's nothing overpowering about this recipe, all ingredients blend very nicely together. Thanks, it's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McLani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Substituted poached fresh salmon (in wine and water) and frozen shredded potatoes (defrosted). Added a tsp. of Dijon mustard. Sauteed minced garlic and onion in butter to mellow flavor before adding to salmon mixture. Browned patties in frying pan and finished cooking on baking sheet in oven because cakes puff up nicely and cook all the way through if baked. Served with Dill Dip II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
We just loved this recipe!!! I made just a few adjustments and they came out perfect. I used fresh salmon (about 1 1/2 lbs.) I also added a little more breadcrumbs for better hold when frying. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. The potato flakes are a great addition to regular salmon patties. They come out beautifully crisp and brown on the outside and tender on the inside. Thanks so much for your great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
We absolutely loved it. I will cut the recipe down a bit next time, since there are only two of us. It was a surprisingly filling and rich taste. I'll make this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States