Potato Salad with Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
First off I made the serving size to 4 which made the ingredients list all weird, but followed it as best I could. I didn't have any parsley - which didn't matter. But what I did do, was put all the seasoning into the cream before I boiled the vinegar (which didn't boil) but got really hot. I thought I had messed it up because the eggs kind of cooked scrambled, but I whisked in the cream real quick. It was so so good, I hate hard boiled eggs - This was a great Potato Salad I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I don't know why the unkind review but I think this recipe sounds wonderful and I plan to try it very soon. The sauce is basically homemade mayonnaise, which is delicious. I don't see how you could go wrong with a recipe that contains real cream, it has to be rich and creamy. Only thing I would do is add some chopped hard boiled eggs, I gotta have them in my potato salad. Also, I will make this the day before so it's icy cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Sorry but this is not good at all.waste of potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Super good!! This does not deserve bad reviews BUT you need to realize it is for the most part a recipe for homemade mayo and if you don't like the ingredients you won't like the end result. Personally I didn't change a thing but I am a fan of homemade mayo. The sugar suggestion is good if you like a milder flavor. Also no need to boil the vinegar since it only needs to be hot enough to cook the egg. And yes it will appear scrambled for a bit. I did continue to cook mine after adding cream etc. to get the consistency I wanted as well as blending the flavors a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I am giving this 3 stars, but the potential is there to be a 5. It needs some tweaking. First, the vinegar did not boil(i don't know if this is essential). Second, it needs salt and pepper, and i think more onion. Lastly, needs to be creamier. Pouring this hot mixture over hot potatoes just absorbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
The texture was awesome but the vinegar is overpowering. I was going to throw it out but decided to try adding sugar. It made a huge difference. I added about 4 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Amazing potato salad! I was very skeptical at some of the ingredients when I was making it, namely the vinegar and the egg. It all came together wonderfully though! I wasn't making it for any gathering, just for us to have around for side dishes. I probably should have known to cut it in half; it made a lot! Due to some of the ingredients in it, I was reluctant to keep it more than a few days. I will definitely make this again. It would be great at a summer potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Great base! I beat 3 eggs into the vinegar and then hard boiled 2 more to chop and add later. I also added chopped celery and topped with chopped green onion. I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Wow, I was hesitant to make this because my family has a "standard" for potato salad (grandma's recipe). However, its still a secret and hasn't passed to my generation yet, and I wanted potato salad now. I dare say this is better than the family recipe, and it hasn't even finished cooling yet. I think next time I would add a bit more mustard and cayenne, since I like things with a little zing. But this recipe is delicious and I'll definitely use it again (at all non-family functions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dresden13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States