Potato Salad With Bacon, Olives, and Radishes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This is my dad's recipe and it is the best. I have been making it for years and I always get compliments. It is unlike any other potato salad. Adjust some of the ingredients to your taste. My daughter eliminates the radishes and substitutes black olives for the green. I'm spoiled. No other potato salad is good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Excellent potato salad! I was looking for a way to use the radishes from our garden, and this recipe was perfect. I am going to prepare it every time I am invited to a picnic or a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Absolutely the very best in potato salads!! Makes other potato dishes taste bland! Would not change a thing for it is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
What a refreshing twist on potato salad! Love it - will be making it again, and probably more often than regular/typical potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This is a delicious potato salad. I used Yukon Gold potatoes to keep it crisper. Only had half the bacon in it and it still got raves. I'm making it right now for Father's Day BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEKANE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edina, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Very easy to make. The only thing, was that the potatoes I got out of the 10 lb store bag were kind of small, so I didn't know how many of them equaled 5, so I winged it. The remainder of the ingredients were about the same. My husband and mother kept saying how good it was. She said it's not "soupy" like some potato salads. He asked "when can you make this again?". My kids didn't care for it much. They said it was too spicey. I tasted the radishes before I cut them up, and they were in fact, hot little ones. So I would try them first, then add or subtract according. We have company coming soon that is vegetarian, and I'm going to make this again, but just substitue the bacon for fake soy bacon. Us meat eaters wont even taste the difference. Thank you for an easy, and terrific Potato Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Really a top notch recipe. Skeptical at first but really surprised how well it turned out. Even surprised my toughest critic, my wife. Anyway, I would probably suggest a little mustard but this recipe is so flexible and easy to prepare (even a dummy like me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I made this a couple of weeks ago and didn't save to my recipe box.. I was frantically looking for it as everyone LOVED it! I used black olives as that's all I had on hand. Also, reduced the amount of bacon, and added 2 diced hard boiled eggs. It was totally awesome and I'm so glad I found it. It is now saved to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Very easy to make, boyfriend ate 2 servings and loved it! It is a very different taste from traditional potato salad but if you like to try different tastes this is for you! I will definitely be making this again! I also didn't have green olives so I did use black olives, other than that I followed the recipe to a tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magiano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I shouldn't rate this recipe (since I made some changes) but the Allrecipes program requires me to do so. I made some changes, but the formula is just delicious. I substituted capers for the olives and I only had half the green onions, so I added the other half with bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States