Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I have made this recipe twice. It's great. Even my fussy 15 year-old loved it. To tweak it the second time, I quadrupled it, used two red and two green bell peppers, used little red potatoes with the skins and added grape tomatoes. Very cruncy and tasty. The red peppers and tomatoes make it pretty and taste right with this recipe. The ranch dressing puts it over the top without overpowering it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Tried this once and it seemed a bit bland. Next time I cooked the potatoes in VERY salty water, diced them, and then coated them with the ranch dressing and refrigerated overnight. Added the rest of the ingredients early the next day and refrigerated until company arrived. MUCH more flavorful that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze Knisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
My husband called me at 2am from work to let me know how good this was in his lunch. I used a bacon ranch dressing and gave this a diffrent kick from the usual potato salad I had used in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I am not a lover of potato salad (mostly due to not loving mustard or mayonnaise), so when my boyfriend insisted we make it as a side dish, I begrudgingly looked up recipes. I was happy to find one that had little mayo and no mustard. The ranch is a nice touch. Also, I wasn't expecting the extra crunch but it made it worthwhile. I split the green pepper portion in half and added a tablespoon of vinegar and some fresh parsley. I also used red onion instead of white/yellow onion. It was tasty and fresh. We also ate it before the potatoes cooled completely but I didn't find this to be problem. My boyfriend added about 1 tbsp of yellow mustard to his own serving and thought it was good as well... he didn't love it without the mustard... said "it doesn't have the same tang". In the future, I might add bacon bits and/or green onions and a dash of garlic powder. It needs just a bit more flavor and salt as the recipe stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I'm not a big potato salad lover but I really liked this! I used green onions in place of yellow onions. I also added about a tablespoon (but I doubled the recipe) of vinegar. I also threw in some bacon bits. Maybe the people that think it's so bland aren't using the "salt and pepper to taste" step?? This is a simple potato salad that used ingredients you have on hand. I am filing this one and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamraarruda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made this several times. It is easy to make and tastes fantastic! I added more amounts of everything (to make more) bacon bits, parsley and a table spoon of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
GOOD FOOD NEVER TASTED SOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I made a bigger batch and did not use fat free(YUCK) but basic recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was a really good recipe. Much easier than a recipe I have used in the past and Lots of compliments. My son liked it when bacon was crumbled over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
It had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States