Potato Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I had 6 potatoes I had to use or loose, so I choose to make potato salad. I was looking for something simple without a lot of chopping and mixing and adding. This was supe simple. I used kraft real mayo with olive oil (that's what I had on hand) and since I happen to be an onion lover, I added some sliced green onion on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
It was way to plain. Even when I added other ingredients to the salad to adress the taste a little it still wasn't to good. I think you should still try this recipe, mabye you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakinggirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Hey -- I would have never tried potato salad like this one -- but in a pinch, it is GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is an easy and basic recipe, so you can add whatever else you like to taste. Mine came out perfect, with added hard boiled egg and celery. As for the reviewer who said it has no nutritional value, who on earth makes potato salad for its health benefits? =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
The basis for this type of potato salad IS awesome, but of course, I don't think there are any sort of "rules" as to how much of what to add and WHAT to add. My grandma has been making potato salad with Miracle Whip for as long as I can remember (I am now 37). When I asked her for the recipe, it involved the above mentioned things along with eggs and I believe onion. She could never give me the quantities of what she puts in it because, like many recipes, you can add and take away what you want and don't want. It is trial and error! We add the salad dressing slowly rather than dump it all in at once..that way you get a feel as to what you are getting. There are many recipes that have this basic thing with mustard, vinegar, etc....we don't add that stuff, but do the boiled eggs and some onion (but not enough to where you are going to go "ACK! There is ONION in there!"...it is subtle. Add some salt and pepper and whatever to taste and VOILA. But, once you have potato salad with Miracle Whip over mayo, it is hard to turn back!!! Just customize it to your own liking..that is the key! As written, I probably wouldn't like this recipe and would give it barely any stars, but add the egg, onion, and some salt and pepper, and VOILA. GOLDEN. Puts store-boughten potato salad to shame!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I love that someone, besides me, eats potato salad like this. I add egg and a little mustard to mine. I think I may add a dash of celery seed when I make it today! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Awesome! I love the simplicity of this recipe. I'm Irish and my husband is English, we like to taste potato in our potato salad. When I serve this at parties, I line up my spices (chives, parsley, bacon bits, cayenne pepper, etc) around the bowl that way anyone wanting to spice it up, can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very plain with just potatoes and salad dressing- I added onion, green pepper, just a teeny squirt of ranch dressing, and mustard and it was wonderful! This is a very good start, but I would always add more to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysten

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This recipe is good as a basis, but it needs more ingredients. It needs more flavor. So add your favorites. I suggest hard boiled eggs, mustard, celery, and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This is how I end up making my potato salad also, except I add pickle relish to add a bit of flavor. I also add hard boiled eggs and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States