Potato Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
This is my favorite "traditional" potato salad recipe. I love all the stuff in it, and the dressing is a bit lower in fat ;) My only complaint is that it takes me longer than 45 min of cook/prep time and I use drained sweet pickle relish instead of chopping the sweet pickles. It makes a large amount, more than the recipe says it serves, but can be cut in half for a family of four with leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CDAVINROY
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I was looking for a Mustard-type potato salad and this is the "first" one that I came across. I added a bit more mustard for taste and for ease of preparing, i julienned the potato on a Pampered Chef slicer. The taters had a bit less texture to them, but boiled a lot faster. All in all, I was very pleased with this recipe, but you will probably need to add salt at the table. Slim down on the celery if the majority of your family isn't celery lovers. This recipe actually feeds more than what it says - i have half a bowl left over. Also, if you have the time and the room, make this dish 2 days before to make sure all the flavors blends. I made this 24 hours ahead of time, but it was even better Monday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
I didn't make 12 servings because I only had 4 potatoes. I kind of guessed at the proportions. Very tasty. I still like mom's potato salad made with onions and cucumbers but hubby is from the South and he grew up on this sort of relish/ mustard type of potato salad. He loved it. Much better than the store bought versions. Sweet (and dill) pickle salad cubes are sold in the South commonly alongside of the relish and used in salads often. Don't overdo the pickle cubes I thought the proportion in the recipe was a bit much. You can leave out the sugar too, sweet enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Great recipe! We don't like celery or sweet pickles, so I used dill pickle relish and dill weed instead. Also added sliced black olives and green onions. Disappeared right quick, it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I made this recipe for a camping trip. I needed to add much more mayonaise to cover the potatoes. I used about an entire small jar of mayo. Instead of relish I used bread-n-butter pickes that I chopped and also used the same pickle juice. I also substituted a red bell pepper instead of the green pepper. After much doctoring and adding more sugar and mustard the end result was a wonderful creation!! Everyone loved it!! I now have a great recipe of my own thanks to using this one as a guide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
This wasn't a hit with our family. We prefer a more creamy potato salad and it had a little too much relish/pickle for our liking. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Excellent! Doesn't need that "teaspoon of sugar". Really delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
A tasty recipe that had everyone going back for seconds both times I've made it. People were surprised to hear that relish (I used relish instead of cubes) provided most of the flavor. Will make again. Thanks, Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Too busy for potato salad! Taste was average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
This is the most perfect potato salad I have ever made I cannot beleive that there is a recipe for it I have not made this one yet, but I will make it & I know if it is anything like the recipe it will be delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States