Potato Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I really love red potatoes, and this recipe is awesome. I made a few changes such as adding a jalapeno (to taste), a 1/2 can of red beans,and a red bellpepper (delicious, and adds sweet instead of the sugar!). I also had to up the mayo a little but halved the amt with miracle whip and mayo. Other additions...oregano, paprika. Just have fun with it! You can put anything in it, and it will always taste wonderful. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
We've tried making several bowls of potato salad and this is the only one that turned out well. My family really enjoyed it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
a simple, classic potato salad - I skipped the relish and mustard (personal preference) and added extra salt. It was fabulous - nothing fancy , just classic. perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Very good. I added a dash of vinegar, less pickles and more mayo. Make sure you let it refreigerate for a few hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I made boiled potatoes for dinner last night & boiled the whole 5 lb bag. I found this today. Our standard pot. salad has mustard, miracle whip and eggs w/celery seed. These reviews were encouraging so I tried it. Hubby is not much of a pot salad man, but he did say this is probably the best pot salad he's ever tasted. I added everything in moderation. I had about 3 lbs of pot, added 2 eggs (I looked up mrbreakfast.com for proper egg cooking instructions lol)1/4 of a lg red onion, 2 kitchen tspns of sweet pickle relish, and the bottom 1/3 of a huge green bell pepper. I added 2 or 3 rubber spatula sized dollups of miracle whip and just squeezed enough mustard in until it looked "right". It's all really what your tastes are. I had no celery, so didn't add any. No sugar needed. Used my egg slicer to cut up my eggs - just manuvered them as I went. Not as long as the Ready In time said for me :0) I will put this in the cookbok! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Very good. I also added 1 green pepper chopped to give it more of a crunch! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
A little too much celery for my own personal taste but a highly adaptive recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Very tasty! My family really enjoyed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I deleted the pickles because my family is not fond of them, but I received lots of compliments on the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This actually came out pretty good! I was a bit skeptical because of all the ingredients that went into this. I'm use to good old fashion potato salad and never had any with peppers or sweet pickles. I used 3 celery stalks instead of 4 (we're not big fans of celery) but I actually didn't even taste it in the potato salad. I also increased the mustard to 2 tablespoons and increased the mayo to 2 cups - we like mayo :) I only used 1/2 onion because it was a sweet onion and was a fairly large one. Lastly, I used 2 tsp white sugar. It was really good. I think the sweet pickles and mustard made a huge difference in this salad. Will definitely make again! Thanks for a great recipe Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States