Potato Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I really love red potatoes, and this recipe is awesome. I made a few changes such as adding a jalapeno (to taste), a 1/2 can of red beans,and a red bellpepper (delicious, and adds sweet instead of the sugar!). I also had to up the mayo a little but halved the amt with miracle whip and mayo. Other additions...oregano, paprika. Just have fun with it! You can put anything in it, and it will always taste wonderful. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
We've tried making several bowls of potato salad and this is the only one that turned out well. My family really enjoyed it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
a simple, classic potato salad - I skipped the relish and mustard (personal preference) and added extra salt. It was fabulous - nothing fancy , just classic. perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Very good. I added a dash of vinegar, less pickles and more mayo. Make sure you let it refreigerate for a few hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I made boiled potatoes for dinner last night & boiled the whole 5 lb bag. I found this today. Our standard pot. salad has mustard, miracle whip and eggs w/celery seed. These reviews were encouraging so I tried it. Hubby is not much of a pot salad man, but he did say this is probably the best pot salad he's ever tasted. I added everything in moderation. I had about 3 lbs of pot, added 2 eggs (I looked up mrbreakfast.com for proper egg cooking instructions lol)1/4 of a lg red onion, 2 kitchen tspns of sweet pickle relish, and the bottom 1/3 of a huge green bell pepper. I added 2 or 3 rubber spatula sized dollups of miracle whip and just squeezed enough mustard in until it looked "right". It's all really what your tastes are. I had no celery, so didn't add any. No sugar needed. Used my egg slicer to cut up my eggs - just manuvered them as I went. Not as long as the Ready In time said for me :0) I will put this in the cookbok! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Very good. I also added 1 green pepper chopped to give it more of a crunch! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
A little too much celery for my own personal taste but a highly adaptive recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Very tasty! My family really enjoyed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I deleted the pickles because my family is not fond of them, but I received lots of compliments on the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This actually came out pretty good! I was a bit skeptical because of all the ingredients that went into this. I'm use to good old fashion potato salad and never had any with peppers or sweet pickles. I used 3 celery stalks instead of 4 (we're not big fans of celery) but I actually didn't even taste it in the potato salad. I also increased the mustard to 2 tablespoons and increased the mayo to 2 cups - we like mayo :) I only used 1/2 onion because it was a sweet onion and was a fairly large one. Lastly, I used 2 tsp white sugar. It was really good. I think the sweet pickles and mustard made a huge difference in this salad. Will definitely make again! Thanks for a great recipe Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States