Potato Rosemary Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
As usual, I adapted this to the human bread machine--me! I proofed the yeast in the warm water & a teaspoon sugar for about 10 minutes, then added the remaining ingredients, with these adjustments: I didn't have nonfat dry milk so I replaced about 1/4 cup of the water with 1% milk; used 1 T fresh rosemary, minced; I only added 2 cups AP flour, then added in a little more as I kneaded the dough. After kneading about 5 minutes I let rise for about 45 minutes, then shaped into the rolls & let them rise about 45 minutes. I did not brush with anything before they baked but did brush with melted butter when they came out of the oven. These are some of the finest dinner rolls we have ever tried. They are tender with a delicious chewy crust, fragrant, and savory--the perfect bread for the Brown Sugar Meatloaf, also from this site. Excellent and easy recipe going straight into my 5-star recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
This is a great classic recipe but if you want more Rosemary flavor change one thing. Start with fresh Rosemary and heat it in the cup of water until just simmering. Let the water cool back to the proper temp with the rosemary in it. Remove the rosemary and mince it before adding to the other ingredients in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I modified the rolls by using a muffin tin instead of a baking sheet. These turn out just as yummy, are easy to keep uniform in size, and when I've got kids helping it makes it more fun for them to roll the dough into a "snake" and put it in the tin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I love good bread, and this certainly qualifies! Interesting shape, wonderful texture and density. Thanks for sharing, Anthony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
i made these rolls for thanksgiving, and i can't wait to make them for Christmas. they were a unique and delicious new addition to the holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Yummy! These rolls are sooo good. My husband came in as I was pulling the rolls out of the oven and said "Wow!" He then ate 6 of them at dinner! I served them with a pork roast and mashed potatoes. An excellent flavor. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Nothing special. I even followed advice of others and these rolls are very ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
These were just OK, nothing bad but nothing special either. I expected more rosemary flavor. These were surpisingly bland, although very easy to make and beautiful. However, my 6-year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Absolutely fabulous rolls! SOOOO easy to make! My husband and I both just loved these rolls. I am giving the recipe to all my family & friends! The texture is perfect, nice & soft, not too tough. The rosemary adds a nice flavor to them without being too much. My husband couldn't believe that "I" made them. I'm not a very good cook so if he was impressed, it must be a good recipe :) These are a nice light addition to any meal. Definitely 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
Fresh, fast, easy, and yummy! I cant stop eating them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States