Potato Rosemary Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
My family loved these but they were a little dense and salty for me. Reminded me of a soft pretzel. Which I am not fond of. I prefer my rolls to be flakier and sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
As usual, I adapted this to the human bread machine--me! I proofed the yeast in the warm water & a teaspoon sugar for about 10 minutes, then added the remaining ingredients, with these adjustments: I didn't have nonfat dry milk so I replaced about 1/4 cup of the water with 1% milk; used 1 T fresh rosemary, minced; I only added 2 cups AP flour, then added in a little more as I kneaded the dough. After kneading about 5 minutes I let rise for about 45 minutes, then shaped into the rolls & let them rise about 45 minutes. I did not brush with anything before they baked but did brush with melted butter when they came out of the oven. These are some of the finest dinner rolls we have ever tried. They are tender with a delicious chewy crust, fragrant, and savory--the perfect bread for the Brown Sugar Meatloaf, also from this site. Excellent and easy recipe going straight into my 5-star recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
One of our favourite roll recipes. They look and taste wonderful. I often use the shaping technique descriped for other dinner roll recipes. I substitute milk for the water/powdered milk and use 1 TBSP of dried rosemary (finely ground with my mortal and pestle).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
These came out perfectly! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHESSA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
We liked these. I did add more rosemary and they smelled so good. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
These were good, a little dry, but good with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I was surprised to find these to be unremarkable. The texture is just OK compared to other rolls I've made in the past (rather heavy.) The flavor was bland, which I believe could have been helped by the addition of a bit more salt to the dough. They weren't bad in any way, (let's face it - how bad can fresh home made yeast rolls be?) just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I did not use a breadmachine and replaced some of the flour and water with homemade sourdough starter, so I had sourdough rosemar rolls. I also used fresh instead of dry rosemary. They were so fragrant and flavorful, and the dough was very easy to handle. They look so cute too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I loved these! Easy and beautiful. I used fresh rosemary out of my garden, a little more than called for. I've made them several times for large groups and they are a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
These are a family favorite and so easy to make in the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States