Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by maryscookin
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made these to take to a Christmas dinner we were invited to. I love potato rolls and these didn't disappoint. They were easy to make and were very soft, fluffy & moist. I recommend oiling your fingers when you start to shape the rolls, as the dough can be a bit sticky. I did use butter in place of the shortening. I put them into cake pans--a dozen in one pan, and a bakers dozen in the other pan. Everyone raved about the rolls, so this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
These make very nice rolls - rave reviews at the party I took them too. Half of them I rolled into balls and put in a 9-inch round pan. The other half I rolled out, cut into circles and then folded in half (these made for great sandwich rolls!). I followed the recipe except that I substituted some of the white flour with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Best rolls ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cool food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
These rolls are amazing! Soft and fluffy. The perfect dinner roll. If they aren't fluffy, you have used too much flour. The dough should be a little sticky. I have found my new favorite roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
These rolls are great! I made them as the recipe was written for family Easter dinner and everybody raved about them, none left over! So light and fluffy, and such a great taste they didn't need to be buttered. This has definitely become my go-to roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
So much better than store bought rolls. They were light and fluffy and gone quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I just made this, and yes, they turned out really yummy, tho I wish I'd made them bigger for sandwiches. As is, we had them fresh out of the oven as slider buns. I found, like some other reviewers, that they didn't rise as much as many other yeast bread/roll recipes I've made. Perhaps that had a little to do with how cool and dry it is here, but it is to be noted. However, they are definitely worth a try (especially for a holiday meal, these would be perfect). I'm glad I saved half the dough for rolls later. I'll have to see if it rises after being in the fridge for a day, but it's worth a shot to have fresh bread. If it doesn't work, lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Really delicious and simple to make. Great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Made these after Easter having had leftover mashed potatoes. The only thing I changed was butter instead of the shortening. Doubled the recipe, but these were devoured very quickly nonetheless. Our new favourite roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
A MUST try recipe. Made it as per recipe. They came out amazingly light and oh--my-goodness, I'm in bread roll heaven! Mmmuuach! Ty for sharing this recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States