Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I have used this a few times making changes depending on what ingredients I have or don't have and it's a very forgiving recipe for sure! The last time was today and I used canola oil instead of shortening and had some left over mashed potatoes that were made from potato flakes and the only sugar that I had was about 1/4 cup of brown sugar so that is what I used. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I let these rise in my oven while using the "proof" feature and they were just so fluffy! Taste was great. Made these under a time crunch once, let them rise half the time both rounds, and they were still pretty good. Not quite as fluffy but still totally edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made this for the first time tonight and my family devoured it! The rolls came out very light, tender and fluffy! I made some changes: to dissolve the yeast, I added 1/2 teaspoon of raw honey to 1/4 cup warm water from the water that I used to boil the potatoes. I also substituted butter for the shortening. I really like this recipe and I will continue to make it again since my son loves the rolls very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Excellent. Light and soft. They did not rise as much as I was expecting but still a great sized batch and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
A MUST try recipe. Made it as per recipe. They came out amazingly light and oh--my-goodness, I'm in bread roll heaven! Mmmuuach! Ty for sharing this recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Quick and easy, had a wonderful taste, went well with my homemade potato soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is a keeper!! Nice, moist and delicious very easy to make and inexpensive. Totally love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
You must try these, they are light and melt in your mouth delicious! We have made several bread and bun recipes and these are our favourite rolls. I do all my bread doughs in the breadmeaker, as I do these with success every time. Makes them so easy. I have subbed the vegetable shortening our on occasion for butter or vegetable oil. Still makes a beautiful roll. You can't go wrong with these. Challenge your best bun recipe with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
These rolls were and are the best rolls you can possibly imagine! They way I did them is very easy. Simply throw all ingredients into the bread machine and select dough cycle. I will definitely make these again! Very delicious!! Thank you Derrick for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
These rolls are amazing! Soft and fluffy. The perfect dinner roll. If they aren't fluffy, you have used too much flour. The dough should be a little sticky. I have found my new favorite roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States