Potato Pouches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
My boyfriend and I loved this dish....very tasty. I like this recipe because it offers lots of options by changing vegetables and spices. The changes I made were rather simple....I added an entire sliced up zucchini an entire sliced up summer squash. Then I doubled the amount of spices and butter. Finally, there is no really no need to make individual pouches, just get a Reynold's Wrap Hot Bag and put it all in one. The only thing I would do differently next time is to cut the potatoes smaller so I could decrease the cooking time as the squash and zucchini cook quickly. I think next time I am going to throw some whole mushrooms in there as well and maybe some parmesan cheese. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I make this ALL the time. I try to slice the potatoes as thinly as I can so none will be underdone. I also use completely different seasonings: a dash of worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, seasoned salt, grated parmesan, or whatever I'm in the mood for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Well, this gets an A for taste, but an F for presentation. I had trouble with the potatoes sticking to the foil. Maybe next time I'll try spraying the foil with cooking spray first. I also left out the salt and it tasted great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were very tasty. I did use more than just a pinch of everything and I had fresh basil that needed used up but the combo of flavors was nice. I think a pinch is for playing it safe but you can easily add more of anything you like to suit your taste. Not sure about the other complaints because mine cooked up just fine in 30 minutes. If you cut them up thicker than the recipe calls for, well yeah they are going to take longer. These turned out just fine for us and were super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Very good basic recipe to tweak to your family's preferred taste. I just shook the spices over the potatoes and onions, using much more than a pinch. I also ended up cooking this dish for almost an hour. Loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Need to bake longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB1LEEMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
These need tons more spices, I like the oven roasted potatoes from this site better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
Very quick and easy, and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Only used red potatoes, no onions - very tasty. Next time I will try with zucchini. I made on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States