Potato Plum Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I tried these and I absolutely loved them! I personally don't mind a recipe that takes a little time, especially if it's authentic, but maybe if you don't truly enjoy cooking, you may want to stick with some simpler recipes that require less cooking experience. Definitely worth the time and effort. Thank you Linda! It's a very special recipe and I know that I'll try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Boy these are as stated "time consuming". Not worth making at all. The taste just was not there for all the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
So glad to see this recipe! This is a family favorite that my Hungarian grandmother passed on to my mother and now to me. The only additional step I add is a plum sauce poured over the top and brown sugar. I just cook some of the left over plum halves with some water a sugar till the plums start alling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
My gramma made these dumplings for us many years ago and then she handed down the recipe to my mom who made them every time prune plums were in season.For the first time last year I helped my mom make them and now plan on making them every year and will pass the tradition down to my daughters and make them for my grandkids.Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Hi guys! I'm the submitter of this recipe and I just wanted to say how happy I am that this dish has brought back many wonderful memories for you. I stated that these were time consuming and I certainly wasn't kidding because I'm making them now as I'm writing. "Prairie Dixie", I give you so much credit for saying that you'll be making this every fall for the rest of your life. I haven't made my own recipe in several years and I now know why!! I am however, making 32 of them, so it's taking a bit of time. I just wanted to say that some of my raw "knoedels" were sticking to the plate and breaking open the dough, so I went back and used cooking spray on the plate. It helped a lot. I hope my Oma is looking down and smiling at me because I'm definitely looking up at her and appreciating all of her efforts and of course, love. Happy cooking gang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I am german and very familiar with this dish. I have to say this one is GREAT! Maybe it is regional, but we top them with melted butter and a mixture of poppyseed cinnamon and powdered sugar. We also had them with the breadcrum butter topping, but it is only served like that when yellow plums are used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Placanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
My Hungarian Grandmother made these for us our whole lives, they are wonderful, just how we remembered. we add cinnamon to the bread crumbs, and brown sugar. When you can taste childhood memories, its just wonderful....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Excellent recipe - and so easy for us beginners. My husbands Oma made this for us all the time - and I have tried a few different recipes - but this just beats all. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
So happy to have this recipe. I grew up eating this and never tired of. iT It is amongst my favourites. I made the recipe but never used the farina as my Mother and Grandmother never did. It turned out very well and was well received by all. Once again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Thank you Linda!!! My Grandmother used to make these when I was a little girl and our family recipe was lost years ago. As soon as I saw this I had to try them and am I ever glad I did. These are even better than my Grandma used to make, and make sure you make lots, I have already made 6 batches and am still getting requests for more. The only thing I changed is that we don't serve them with bread crumbs, I mix sour cream with sugar and spoon it over luke warm dumplings. I also used much more flour than called for to get the dough a consistency for rolling. Thanx so much for the recipe Linda I will be using it every fall for the rest of my life! I just wish plums were in season all year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States