Potato Plum Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is MY Grandmother's recipe too--Austrian also--- and one of my all time favorite desserts.We always serve with whipped cream--mit schlag. Jamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I learned how to make these from my husbands "Oma". She never wrote down the exact measurements of her ingredients so I came on allrecipes.com to try and find a plum dumpling recipe. I must say your recipe is a bit more delicious! Perfect...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krobella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middle Village, New York, USA
Living In: Stewartsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
If you didn't grow up eating these or did not have a wonderful experience in Europe with this type of dumpling, it's not likely you will think these are anything special. I love to cook and I don't mind things that take time or special techniques, but there is still a "worth it" rating and these just do not live up. They were A LOT of work and A LOT of clean-up and they were bland. It's not something to make if you don't have a cultural connection to it. Make some apple dumplings or turnovers instead. They taste better and are much less hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
In Austria you can now buy these in the frozen food section, but homemade is always best. I've made some very time consuming dishes, but this one tops the list both in terms of work and clean-up. The results, however, are well worth it because it brings back so many memories of our time in Austria. Some suggestions/changes: 1) Regular plums will not suffice for the Italian prune plums. If you can't find them, use apricots and make marillenknödel (i.e. apricot dumplings.) Because apricots are larger, just put half of an apricot into each dumpling so that it will cook properly. 2) I peel the potatoes first and cut into quarters to speed up the boiling time. 3) You need a potato ricer. If you just mash the potatoes, the consistency will not be correct. You can buy one for under $10 at places like Bed, Bath & Beyond. 4) Regular, plain breadcrumbs. Not seasoned. Not panko. 5) The recipe is sweet - kids love it - so we're not a big fan of the sugar cube in the middle. Instead, sprinkle a little powdered sugar for the garnish. 6) Regarding farina, it is a wheat "cereal," so look for it in the oatmeal section and not the baking aisle with the flour. Some regular grocery stores carry it, but a natural food store is a better bet. You can buy a box at Trader Joe's for $2.99 (although, the big question is what to cook with the rest!) This is a truly authentic recipe that turns out just as good as the original in Austria. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I found your recipe just after we finished making a batch. We do it exactly the same. My grandmother was from Hungary and was a great cook. She taught me. The only thing I did differently was I made the bread crumbs from Pascha bread from yesterday. This was my labor of love for my family. I am gluten intolerant and can't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I grew up with my German mother making plum dumplings. I could not find her recipe, so I tried this one. My family loved them. Just like mom used to make. We don't use the sugar cubes in the plums to leave the plums a bit on the tart side. I did have to use a lot more flour to get rid of the tackiness of the dough. I used about 3 to 4 cups of flour total. We don't do the breadcrumb mixture at the end either. We do melted butter and powdered sugar on top. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Really good flavor but it was way too time consuming overall. Had problems with the dough being tacky and must have added an additional 2 cups of flour. Perhaps it was from kneading so much flour into the dough, but the final product was like eating a very thick pasta and somewhat gummy after boiling it. I think a better option for plums would be to make a pie with a crumble topping and get a comparable dessert and much quicker to put together. I´m glad to have tried it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I was so surprised to see this recipe here. My Austrian Mother in law made these. She also made the meat variety on the same day with mincemeat and served in/on sourkraut. NOTE TO PREVIOUS POSTER ....My mother would take the knoedel after rolling in the crumbs..she would then toast the knoedel i the oven on very low for 15 mins or so. I think the crumbs stuck. Thanks for the recipe and the reminder of the love that was used to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
my husband's Austrian grandmother made these , we all thought we would never eat them again , when I found this recipe I made them and everyone said they were authentic and as good as what we remembered , we loved them they are also good made with apricots. Instead of a sugar cube I put 1/2 tsp sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Wow. Just like my Austro-Croat Aunt. Fairly bullet proof. If anyone knows a trick to get the struesel to stick better, let me know. Best to get dark plums, slightly overripe and pruning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States