Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
So I am making these now and have figured out that if you don't flatten them out enough they will fall apart. I also think that a lower heat is better. My first batch was on med high and I couldn't flip them at all, I threw them out. I lowered it to med low at 5 min a side and they are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Everyone loved this recipe....I did add 1 tsp onion powder since other recipes call for some onions and my kids don't like them. I also took the advice of some of you and added 2 TBSP of flour to help them stick together. Served with sour cream and homemade applesauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very nice. The recipe is great. For me, I can add some things to make the more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Perfect. Next time I might add some bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Couto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Added the following: 1/3 C flour, onion flakes, garlic salt instead of salt. All told, this recipe is good, but a little bland for what I like. Wish I would have had a fresh onion to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abreitbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
needs more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I remember my mother making these and could never find the recipe so grateful for this recipe. Was so easy to make and they were just like I remembered. Thanks so much I am making them today, I made extra potatoes so I could make them. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Parkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I have tried several times to make these and they are not really crispy enough to pick up. Maybe this is the way thay are supposed to be and I just don't like them??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I've been eating these as well since a kid. You know I've never thought to add cheese. I've always added a lil' white onion. No onion this time, used your recipe. The cheese gave them a lil' firmer texture and they were wonderful. My husband normally doesn't care for these because of the center being soft, but he really liked these. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby_Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
The great thing about potato pancakes is you can add lots of different flavors. Cheese, green onions, onions, beef hash, ect. This is a great simple recipe that you can work with to add and make them the way you want. I added onions and some italian seasoning. About the cooking time. I looked up im my Betty crocker book. They recommed 10mins. Dont try fliping them or playing with them tell least after 5 mins. If you do they will fall apart. My total cook time was 8 mins on each side on a med heat. Also use cold mash potates. They help keep the form. I normaly use left overs. Then top off with a dap of sour cream. Yummy! Totally going to make them again with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Y.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States