Potato Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Oh so good! A true German potato pancake is "grated" as the recipe states, not shredded. Shredding produces something that's more like a hash brown. Make sure to not only drain the liquid, but to actually squeeze out the water in a kitchen towel. Time consuming, yes, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
I loved this recipe due to it's simplicity and nutritional value. Cooking spray worked well rather than oil to fry. I added herbs and used my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
My boyfriend and I both enjoyed these. I will definitely make them again. We didn't use the onion since he doesn't like them. But to keep the pancakes from tasting bland, we used some dry minced onion and put a lot of salt and pepper and fajita seasoning along with parsley to add a little color. I had to add an extra couple of tablespoons of flour to thicken it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I love this recipe!! I just sauté the onions in olive oil before adding them to the potatoes, then I lay out the potatoes in a baking dish and bake in the oven (325° for about 45 min.) Just GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
yummy, try a food processor for shredding the potatoes much faster...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Very Tasty. My husband LOVED them. We ate them for breakfast with applesauce. I used "baking" potatoes and it made A LOT more than 2-3 servings. I had to add an extra egg and extra flour and will add more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Mmmm WONDERFUL! I used about 4 tablespoons of flour though b/c my potatoes were fairly large, and added some seasoned salt and nutmeg. Also added some chopped green pepper! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This is so similar to a recipe I used to make years ago, I used to love it. Maybe I messed up somehow or maybe I have pretty much just got away from greasy food. To me this was way too greasy. My grandkids didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I was looking for a recipe for potato pancakes like my mother made years ago. Several of the reviews said to "grate" the potatoes and not shred them but they didn't mention how to grate them. Use the smallest side of your box grater. The potatoes should be like a mush. Then grate the onions the same way using regular onions not green. Putting the grated potatoes in a sieve was a new one for me but sounds like good advice if you will also press down on the potatoes after they have dripped off on their own. My mother fried them in bacon grease so I guess she got more flavor in them that way. She cooked them in an iron skillet. I have never made them successfully like she did because I think I'm afraid to get the pan hot enough. The four pictures of this recipe all showed shredded potatoes. If I ever make them successfully, I will send you a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
MMM. Just like my granmother used to make. For my birthday I would would request these. Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States