Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Perfect & easy. I added 1/2 cup of cubed frozen hash-browns (about 3 minutes before serving) and 3 slices chopped browned bacon. I got leeks this past week from Bountiful Baskets and had never cooked them before. I googled a recipe for leeks and came across this. My husband and four young kids DEVOURED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Very good... I changed things up a bit but it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was a very easy recipe to put together. Everyone liked it. I used garlic salt instead of celery salt and didn't add any additional salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made some changes to this recipe to suit what I had on hand and it turned out to be one of the best soups I've ever made...and that's saying something! I only used one can of soup broth and used the empty soup can to measure out 5 cans of skim milk. The biggest change was that I substituted the potato flakes (yuck) with my left over scalloped potatoes from Easter dinner. (they were and Asiago cheese and sage recipe). Anyway, I threw them into the boiling mixture, mashing as they cooked. I then took out about 3 cups of the leeks and potatoes that hadn't dissolved and blended them. Put everything back together and dined on the most delicious soup!!! I think the secret was definitely the leftover scalloped potatoes. They lent an unbelievable flavour to the soup. I will DEFINITELY make this again; in fact, every time I have leftover scalloped potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Delicious! I make it exactly as the recipe states and everyone raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Great starter recipe. I added real potatoes and blended the onion, leek and potatoes once they were soft. Added more chicken broth, salt and some garlic and only about 1/4 cup instant potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
We love this soup. It is tasty and easy. We have salad and fresh french bread and cheese on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was such an easy soup to make. The first soup I've ever made. It was very flavorful, and filling. I did chop up some real potatos and put them in the soup for some chunkyness. Maybe if you make this soup I wouldn't add as much potato flakes. It got really thick, it almost was a watered down paste. I like my potato soups not so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Neppers
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Loved this recipe. Will be keeping it! Super simple, and super easy to expand upon depending on your own nutritional needs. Sorry, I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but was still pleased with the end result. No potato flakes, but instead real potatoes thinly sliced. I also used no milk. So at the end, when all the potatoes and other ingredients were tender, I used my hand blender to puree them. Turned out smooth and creamy, without needing any milk. Garnished it with shredded cheddar cheese although I think low fat sour cream would also be a lovely addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is delicious! I made this for dinner last night and absolutely loved it! Added a little bit of chili powder and smoked paprika for a bit of a kick. Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States