Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This recipe was a really great start! I only put 2lbs of potatoes, added a carrot, stalk of celery, a parsnip and let it boil. When soft I mashed it all. Then I sauted the leeks in butter and added a little bit of flour. When that was soft I added it to the vegetables and broth. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
The soup was delightful! I did use a Hand mixer instead of the food processor. This cut the amount of prep time. I also cut the amount of butter used for sauteeing the leeks. Use stock instead with a little bit of butter to cut some of the fat in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
Recipe turned out great. I substituted Vegetable broth (I am a vegetarian)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
To me this is what Potato Leek soup should taste like. I use the entire leek though and I cooked everything in one pot. When the potatoes were done, I blended the whole thing in the blender. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookMe2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Wow!!!!!! Delicious soup. This was SSSSOOOOO easy to make and was just heavenly to eat with a crust bread salad and glass of white wine. I did have to use 1 extra can of broth to thin it out. I just used an hand mixer to leave some chunks. We topped it with shredded cheese and pigged out for two days!! This recipe makes a ton and keeps well. What more could you want? Two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Comfort food at it's best. I added an extra leek and needed to add extra broth to thin it out a bit. I also added garlic when cooking the leeks. I used a hand mixer to puree the potatoes right in the cooking pot. So easy!! Both my husband and I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
It was very good, however it was VERY thick! I will try to make it again, using more broth, less potatoes & more leeks. But still a very good base to start from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANADIAN EH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This soup was really good! I substituted olive oil for about 1/2 the butter. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
What a lovely, mellow, creamy, delicious soup! I cut the recipe in half and it was very easy to make. I used a hand mixer to puree the potatoes, and added the cooked leeks to the original pot of potatoes. Other than that, I followed the directions to the letter. It doesn't need anything added! Perfect cold weather soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This soup is great! It is *really* thick, though. I used only 4 lbs of potatoes and still had something close to mashed potatoes until I added more wine (for a total of 1 C). The wine was a nice touch, though, and we ate it with parmesan and bacon bits. Even my boyfriend - who hates soup - raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States