Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Pretty good but definitely could use a little something extra like cheese because it just tasted like mashed potatoes. But super good mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very delicious! I followed the recipe as written. Turned out great. I especially like that you don't use any cream...much healthier option. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Unbelievably tasty and simple to prepare. Based on user suggestions, I included ~2 lbs of potatoes, 1 large carrot, 1 parsnip, 2 celery stalks, and 3.5 cups of broth. Next time I'll throw in a second parsnip and make it an even quart of broth. To make the dish vegan, I just substituted Earth Balance margarine and vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I really like this soup! I make this in my slow cooker--potatoes first, then the leeks I've sauteed in butter and seasoned with the salt and white pepper. I skip the wine because we rarely have it on hand and just add a little more broth. I put the cooker on low all day or high for 4 or 5 hours. It's a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My initial taste of this recipe was on the bland side, especially since I don't use salt. But after letting it simmer a bit more and adjusting the seasonings, I found the flavors to be beautifully subtle. I love when I'm able to taste each ingredient, and I always forget what gentle flavors potatoes have. And the leeks really show through with a nice brightness. The only thing I did differently was mash about two thirds of the potatoes. The un-mashed chunks as well as the leeks added good texture. This is one soup I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Yummy. I substituted the bacon with diced pancetta (low sodium) and it was yummy, with a bit of smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
amazing! I followed the original recipe to a tee and then finished it off with bacon and fresh parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Everyone loved this. My husband made a big batch and it didn't last the day. I like that the soup is so creamy without using milk or cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Easy, creamy and YEAH no MILK!! Added thinly sliced fresh mushrooms & garlic to the leek saute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RavinSunkiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hancock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Yummy! I only had about 2 pounds of red potatoes- so quartered those, cooked in 4 cups of chicken broth. I added a sliced carrot due to another review. My leeks didn't have big bulbs, but I used two about four inches long, sauteed in half the butter called for and had no white wine so used sherry. I blended it all using an immersible blender (best $30 ever spent!). I served it with Cheese Biscuits. It was a hit, thanks! My four year old loved every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabanana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States