Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Sorry everyone, but this recipe was kinda boring. I think that I perfer a more flavorful soup, but if you like something on the bland side, this might be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I made as is and it was just like a pot of mashed potatoes. I had to add a whole extra can of broth and more wine to thin it, and lots of extra spices as was bland. I liked after all this, hubby didnt care for texture. Probably wouldnt make again, too many changes needed to try and "fix"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Fantastic!! I had some potato leek soup at an irish pub a long time ago, and i have always been searching for a simlar recipe. Adding cream to this soup, and I think it would be a match, but I like this soup just the way it is, its much healthier this way. I am vegetarian, so I used vegetable broth. That is the only modification I made. Depending on your preference, you can make it even healthier by substituting the butter with some sort of butter alternative. The wine and the white pepper give it a unique flavor. This is my favorite by far!!! I Love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was really good and pretty quick to make which is a winning combination. I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken to make it vegetarian and I added a few diced carrots to get more veggies in. Sooooo yummy, my new favorite potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Great recipe. The first time I did it, I tried to do everything from slicing the leeks to blending the potatoes with a food processer, but it took twice as long as this time. Instead, I hand sliced the leeks and used a regular hand mixer to "mash" the potatoes with the broth. I also boiled some chicken breast and shreded it with a fork to add a little milk. It didnt need much salt because of the sodium of the broth and I used sherry because I didnt have wine handy, and I would do the same way next time. A really simple recipe that's easy to modify!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siobhan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was an amazing soup! I also used a hand blender and added two parsips to the rcipe. This gave it a little sweet flavor. At the end I piped sour cream and sprinkled smoked peprika over it...YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was delicious! However, 5 lbs of potatoes takes me much longer to peel and quarter than 25 minutes, not to mention taking care of the leeks. That said, this tasty, tasty soup gets five stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
For some reason this soup seemed a little bland... I added 2 cups chopped ham, 1 cup sour cream and garlic powder. It's a good base for potato soup. Thanks JJOHN32
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Pretty good for being lowfat. I added carrots, celery, garlic and an onion to the leeks. I also used half butter/half evoo, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is a wonderful soup. I made very few changes. I used only a fraction of the butter to sautee the leeks and I used about 4 lbs of potatoes and 8 cups of chicken broth. I would use even less potato next time as the soup is very thick and it makes plenty to last a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States