Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Since we are a health-conscious family, we really enjoy this recipe because it doesn't call for heavy cream. I used a lot more chicken broth than called for in order to reach the desired consistency. If I prepared this recipe to the letter, it would be more like potato paste. Once it was thinned out, it had a nice consistency. The flavor is very simple and clean, which we enjoyed. Overall, it's a keeper with minor modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Loved it !!!!! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
very good, and a nice change from my old potato soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This soup is great just made it and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Nephin-Webb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atikokan, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
so smooth and delicious, i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beesandbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I love that there is no cream yet it's still a thick, creamy soup. Instead of using a food processor I just used my potato masher right in the pot, then added the sautéed leeks in, it left some potatoes chunky which I really liked. Next time I will add garlic for more flavour, and possibly other spices as I don't like to add salt for health reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchymom
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This soup was unbelieveable... it was the perfect comfort food and I plan on making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was delicious. Simple and warm for a cold night. I made it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Like other reviewers, I was turned off by the consistency of the soup...I think a potato soup really needs cream or milk to make it smooth. I added some milk to thin it out. It was ok with cheddar cheese, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Sorry everyone, but this recipe was kinda boring. I think that I perfer a more flavorful soup, but if you like something on the bland side, this might be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States