Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This soup was fantastic. Like other reviewers, I did halve the number of potatoes - and even then I still needed to add a few extra cups of broth. I also added garlic to the leek saute. It's a seemingly simple dish, but loads of subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
People mentioned that the soup might be too thick so I added 2 extra cups of broth. I thick 1 would've been sufficient. So good! Definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Linde
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I thought this was just okay. I guess I missed the reviews commenting on the consistency of the soup because I foolishly made it as written and ended up with mashed potatoes. To say this is soup with 5 lbs. potatoes and 6 c. stock just doesn't add up. That's just over a cup of liquid per POUND of potatoes. To salvage the soup I had to more than double the stock which made it taste more like chicken soup than anything else. Put in more wine and seasonings to give it more flavor. Still thought it was just okay. My daughter liked it though, so that's something I guess. As written this would get 0 stars as a soup because it isn't soup. With adjustments it's ok but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Made this last night, yummy. What made this soup was the white wine. Other recipes do not use white wine and it tastes just so so. But with the w. wine, it gave the extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is outstanding I went with what I had 1 onion 2 celery chopped 3 cloves garlic crushed an little more sherry also cooked it all together and it is great Thank You JJohn32 ps used imerision blender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I used half the potatoes (approx. 2.5 pounds) and par-boiled them in water, drained and rinsed the pot out. Then I finished boiling them in chicken broth. I also used a hand blender and when sauteing, a little less butter and a dash of flour. It was pretty thick so I added a little more broth to desired consistency. Overall...good stuff. I'm freezing it in batches as comfort food when recovering from my upcoming surgery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndreaThePetSitter
Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great recipe. I also added 8 cups of broth to thin the soup down. I also tried a version with onions instead of leeks because it was all I had - not the same. The leeks make the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wow, delicious! I halved the recipe (but kept the butter the same), used Marsala instead of white wine and used a hand blender to blend all the ingredients at the end. What a wonderful fall soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazenfree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Since we are a health-conscious family, we really enjoy this recipe because it doesn't call for heavy cream. I used a lot more chicken broth than called for in order to reach the desired consistency. If I prepared this recipe to the letter, it would be more like potato paste. Once it was thinned out, it had a nice consistency. The flavor is very simple and clean, which we enjoyed. Overall, it's a keeper with minor modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Loved it !!!!! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States