Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great soup, but only giving it 4 stars because the stock listed in the recipe is way off. Needed at least 8 cups of stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
First off, Soup was delicious. Like many other recipes off this site, I made modification suggested by other readers. Replaced the butter with margarine, did not cook use the white wine, and added 1 lb of carrots. I also added 1 small onion finely chopped, and a small tin of evaporated milk in place of recommended cream. I also 50/50 the chicken stock with vegetable stock to lower the sodium count. First time I made it, I kept it kept the soup thick and chunky; Second time, more added remaining stock and made it more liquidy. Both times it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
AMAZING soup! I agree with some reviewers that 6 cups is not enough broth. I ended up adding 8 cups, and still needing to thin it out with a bit of milk when serving. Other than that, I absolutely loved this soup! The taste of the leeks sauteed with white wine and butter was great with the potatoes. I will definitely make this again and again... although not for a while since it made a ton of soup, which is now in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Delicious! I added extra broth because I like my soup a little less thick but I was also pressed for time so I didn't cook it down very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Definitely expect to use a full two quarts of broth with this soup - with only six cups, it reminded me of mashed potatoes! I used four small leeks, the white and light green parts. The flavor was just about perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was a very simple recipe! To make it quick & easy: I reduced it to 2-3 pounds of potatoes, unpeeled. Instead of running everything through a processor/blender I just mashed the potatoes right in the pot as they simmered. (This does make the soup a little lumpy.) To make it vegan: I used vegetable broth and olive oil (instead of butter). Season with salt & pepper and, folks, we have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I have never had or made this type of soup before. I thought it had a wonderful flavor. I added more broth as the recipe suggests and it turned out great. I wouldn't serve it as a meal in itself but definetly good to keep warm on the stove with some bread for a cold day. Very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very good dairy free potato soup. I served it with store bought Nan bread, a weird combination, but the chewy, buttery, salty nan perfectly complemented this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
tasty. very thick like other reviewers said. I ended up adding water to thin it out. I also added minced garlic when cooking the leeks (used the whole leek). I didn't need to add any salt because the chicken broth had sodium. I'd recommend using low sodium broth if you think its too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
i halved the recipe and it still turned out good. it was a little thick for my tastes but thats an easy fix. also had leftover ground ham that i sprinkled on top. served with apples and whole wheat bread, yum! (also, used on hand gold potatoes vs white. diff color and probably a little diff taste but still good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States