Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
loved it! i added milk like a few peple suggested, and some garlic...it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Fantastic! But like others have mentioned, it's quite thick and needed some thinning it out for it to be a soup, or you could eat it like mashed potatoes. I also ended up using probably only half the amount of butter and an extra stalk of leek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent soup with a lovely flavor. I did use two boxes of broth from the beginning and added about 2 cloves of garlic and pureed everything for a velvety smooth texture. It made about 12-13 cups of soup (even without a full 5 pounds of potatoes) which made it great for freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
this was a hit, my wife loves the leeks but, i was a little heavy on the wine...not so good, my fault. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newhall, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Needed something more, but otherwise nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I love the ease of this recipe. I also put in the last bit of leftover boneless ham to the boiling potatoes, then diced it up and added it to the soup after the potatoes were pureed. Added milk to thin soup down as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars because it's great to find a lower fat version of this recipe! It's a good, solid potato leek soup - nothing fancy, but you won't believe that it doesn't have any milk or cream in it. I used only a TBSP of butter to saute the leeks (as I am on a low fat diet) plus a little olive oil, and that's all the fat in the whole thing. Healthy, hearty and DELICIOUS! I will add, though, that 6 cups of stock was not nearly enough liquid. I ended up adding 2 more cups while cooking and then another cup or so of water to thin the soup out to the correct consistency. Great with crusty bread on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bel920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I added carrot and garlic and used mushroom broth. It changed the color a bit but was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I have been using this recipe for years. i sub a little broth for the white wine when im out and its sooo good. Helps everyone feel better when the cold season hits our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was really good soup! I added some milk at the end to thin it out. I halved the recipe, used about 5 potatoes and 1 1/2 leeks. Next time I'll go heavier on the leeks. Loved the white wine in it... it really added something. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States