Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Top notch. I made it with 3 lbs of Dutch Creams (all I had) but otherwise exactly as per recipe. It's a lovely, subtle soup with a light but deep flavor. I garnished with fresh marjoram because I didn't have any parsley. I'm always looking for good soups to serve before dinner or with a salad for a light lunch, this is wonderful for that. Make sure you don't burn the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Like other reviewers, mine also turned into mashed potatoes. Nice flavor, but I was hoping for soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Um, it's okay. I followed recipe to the tee but they taste too much like mashed potatoes to me. I kept having to add way more broth than what it called for, and everytime it sat in the fridge they kept getting thicker and thicker, so everytime we reheated it we had to add even more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
loved it! i added milk like a few peple suggested, and some garlic...it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Fantastic! But like others have mentioned, it's quite thick and needed some thinning it out for it to be a soup, or you could eat it like mashed potatoes. I also ended up using probably only half the amount of butter and an extra stalk of leek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent soup with a lovely flavor. I did use two boxes of broth from the beginning and added about 2 cloves of garlic and pureed everything for a velvety smooth texture. It made about 12-13 cups of soup (even without a full 5 pounds of potatoes) which made it great for freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
this was a hit, my wife loves the leeks but, i was a little heavy on the wine...not so good, my fault. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newhall, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Needed something more, but otherwise nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I love the ease of this recipe. I also put in the last bit of leftover boneless ham to the boiling potatoes, then diced it up and added it to the soup after the potatoes were pureed. Added milk to thin soup down as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars because it's great to find a lower fat version of this recipe! It's a good, solid potato leek soup - nothing fancy, but you won't believe that it doesn't have any milk or cream in it. I used only a TBSP of butter to saute the leeks (as I am on a low fat diet) plus a little olive oil, and that's all the fat in the whole thing. Healthy, hearty and DELICIOUS! I will add, though, that 6 cups of stock was not nearly enough liquid. I ended up adding 2 more cups while cooking and then another cup or so of water to thin the soup out to the correct consistency. Great with crusty bread on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bel920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States