Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
this soup was so thick that I had to add liquid every time I wanted to eat it. It was more like a potato leek massh. Yummy, but not a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This soup is very delicious. I made minor changes, but can tell it would be delicious on its own - I was eating this as a meal so added a bit more to it to make it heartier. I also had to use extra broth, though. And I didn't peel the potatoes, because I'm a rebel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was tasty, but not outstanding. Maybe this is a nostalgia item and I don't have the right nostalgia for it. I first tried potato-leek soup at an upscale restaurant and thought, "Eh, it's ok, I can do better." I didn't really do any better. I added some garlic, but that's about all. Don't get me wrong, it's tasty, but it's not drop-everything-it's-dinnertime good. Also, I found the ratio of potato:liquid to be off and had to thin it a bit with more chicken broth, so keep that in mind. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
So so yummy. I followed another's advice and subbed out 1 lb of potatoes for carrots. Cooked them with the potatos. Used hand mixer to puree and was sure to do only minor mixing b/c the carrots would have turned to color an unappealing orange color if I had fully pureed them. I also found the result to be too thick, so I added about 1/2 to 1 cup of 1% milk (all I had, bet whole would be even better) to thin it out. The flavor and texture was so wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Delicious flavor. I used 2.5 lbs of potatoes. I added about 2 Tbs. of flour to the leek mixture and I cooked 2 diced carrots and added them into the soup. I added 1 3/4 cup of skim milk. To please my son, I cooked up just a tiny bit of bacon and sauteed the leeks in that with only a third of the butter. I also blended rather than pureed the soup, creating a creamy soup with substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Easy to make. Not very flavorful or soupy and instead was very mashed potato pasty. More thick like a pudding. I had to add extra wine, extra butter and extra stock (doubled the wine/butter, added 2 more cups stock) and it still felt like mashed potatoes. Needed more leeks, which I should have doubled. I am going to fuss with this and improve it as I believe strongly this recipe has a solid base. I would not use a blender which I tried (made the texture even more pasty). You can edit this recipe to make it much better. I would definitely start here as it's so simple that it could be just delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Made this per recipe and it came out very thick! Use either less potatoes or more chicken broth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet K Regner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I followed this recipe and it was just wonderful~ Thank You so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Claypool, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Added bacon, cooked leeks in bacon drippings, butter and wine, added a block of cream cheese and a small container of sour cream. This soup is a meal in and of itself. I've made it several times, always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States