Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Had only 4 lbs of potatatoes - good thing - because after following the other instructions, I had what my husband called "a thick glue pot". Perhaps we can eventually finish this huge pot of soup. Easy to make and if you like potatoes and leeks, very tasty and subtle. The potatoes were going to spoil anyway. I suggest using 2 1/2 to 3 pounds of potatoes, although you can always add more chicken stock. My husband just tried some and suggested a little gravy might do some good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Great recipe...doubled the chicken broth and added another leek....to die for...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Great next time I will make a double batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Loved this. Skipped the butter and used a little olive oil instead. Also used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Very light. Tastes rich and creamy, without the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Mather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Yum! A favorite for my family. I never seem to have any wine when I am making it and I'm sure it would be even better if I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We liked this recipe and I will make again, if we have guests who can not have dairy. I wanted to make a leek soup with no dairy. I only used 3 lbs of potatoes and I still had to add 1 more cup of broth to get it to a nice thickness. In the end it still felt like it needed a little something...maybe garlic. I did use a little oil instead of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Really liked this a lot! I omitted the butter and put 1/4c olive oil instead. I also added only 1/4 c half and half. I don't miss all the heavy cream of the "creamer" versions. Still lower in calories. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RouxZQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great soup! I made this for a church supper (40ish people) and it was well received. I thought I made enough to be able to take some home to freeze, but alas... no such luck. My 8-year old kept coming back for more and more. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was really yummy, kind of like baked potato in soup form. We added cheddar cheese and the kids were thrilled. I will say the only problem is that is a really time consuming process to make it and requires quite a few pots and appliances, so it is a lot of clean up for soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
As-is, the potato-to-broth ratio is way off, and the leek flavor is barely noticeable. However, I love the idea of a vegan leek soup, so I will try again. Next time I will do as others suggested; reduce the potato, increase the broth, double the leeks. NOTE: I also skip the half-cup of butter for a tablespoon of EVOO and frozen leeks from Trader Joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States