Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Delicious, creamy comfort food. I doubled the leeks for a stronger flavor. And added lots of extra stock so it was more like a thick soup than mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Palombo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Good recipe. I made some changes though, and would change it if/when i make it again. I only had 2.5 pounds of potatoes, so i added 2 whole carrots and 2 celery stalks. I used veggie broth. Also, I believe potato skins are healthy, but worried it would affect the consistency, so i only peeled half the skins. (couldn't even tell!) I used vegetable broth and black pepper (what I had). I only had 1 leek, and I used most of it, and I used a little olive oil instead of butter-worried it was too much. Also used cooking sherry as the wine. The soup was good. Next time i would leave all skins on, use carrots, but limit it to 1 stalk of celery, if any. (too celery tasting) I would get more leeks! I would try chicken broth if on hand. I will buy white pepper for my spice rack. I would use more olive oil to saute leeks for more flavor. I would do this again, it was so easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Easy and tasty. I didn't weigh the potatoes and likely used more like 2-3 lbs. so the proportion of leeks to potatoes was slightly different than in the recipe. Very yummy. No need for salt and pepper. Was very flavourful as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Yummy! I didn't have any white wine, so I just added water. It was very thick so I just kept adding liquid until I got the consistency I wanted. I used more leek than called for and less butter, but it was still yummy. I also used an immersion blender (hand stick kind) so I didn't have to mess around with taking anything out. I just put it all together and blended. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Loved it! Substituted olive oil for butter and added some smoked salmon at the end. No processor, so riced the potatoes. It was a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I LOVED this dairy-free version of potato leek soup. Since I had no white wine, I used red and that worked out well. Instead of blending them, I mashed the potatoes in the pot with a potato masher. I ended up also mixing some beet greens and kale that I had previously sauteed on the side, and they went very well in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a great creamy potato soup without the calories and fat of cream or half & half. I basically followed the recipe as written except I didn't peel the potatoes. It turned out great! I used homemade broth and a little water when boiling the potatoes. I used about 3 tsp of sea salt and black pepper because I don't like white pepper. Very tasty and will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I used half the amount of potatoes and still needed all six cups of broth. If I make it again I will only puree part of the potatoes and dice the rest. Good flaver tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I used this recipe as a guide and it worked well. My fiance refuses to eat soup if it doesn't have meat in it, so i added some crumbled chorizo sausage. I didn't have any wine so i skipped it. Other than that i stayed true to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe gives a lovely thick soup. I think it is much easier to make using a stick blender (Bamix) than using a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States