Potato Leek Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Yummy! I didn't have any white wine, so I just added water. It was very thick so I just kept adding liquid until I got the consistency I wanted. I used more leek than called for and less butter, but it was still yummy. I also used an immersion blender (hand stick kind) so I didn't have to mess around with taking anything out. I just put it all together and blended. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Loved it! Substituted olive oil for butter and added some smoked salmon at the end. No processor, so riced the potatoes. It was a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I LOVED this dairy-free version of potato leek soup. Since I had no white wine, I used red and that worked out well. Instead of blending them, I mashed the potatoes in the pot with a potato masher. I ended up also mixing some beet greens and kale that I had previously sauteed on the side, and they went very well in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a great creamy potato soup without the calories and fat of cream or half & half. I basically followed the recipe as written except I didn't peel the potatoes. It turned out great! I used homemade broth and a little water when boiling the potatoes. I used about 3 tsp of sea salt and black pepper because I don't like white pepper. Very tasty and will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I used half the amount of potatoes and still needed all six cups of broth. If I make it again I will only puree part of the potatoes and dice the rest. Good flaver tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I used this recipe as a guide and it worked well. My fiance refuses to eat soup if it doesn't have meat in it, so i added some crumbled chorizo sausage. I didn't have any wine so i skipped it. Other than that i stayed true to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe gives a lovely thick soup. I think it is much easier to make using a stick blender (Bamix) than using a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
really nice. Love the flavour & even the kiddos ate it - always a compliment when that happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Great recipe! I love the flavor! Since my 2 year old's favorite part of soup is the chunks of potato, I didn't wiz it up, and it turned out great, still with the smooth, thick texture. I added the leeks to the potatos as soon as they were sauted, and let them cook down further with the soup. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Great simple soup - 3 out of 4 family members loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States