Potato Latkes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
My family loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I found them 2 lack flavor and 2 b very heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I added 2 cloves of garlic and substituted crushed crackers and some flower for the matzo meal. These both worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Needham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dresden, Sachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I am not Jewish, however we have made these "Potato Pancakes" for years out of leftover mashed potatoes. Instead of matzo meal we use all purpose flour and they turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
These were delicious! My mother is visiting & had a hankering for latkes when we were in Germany but we couldn't find any there. I tried these at home & she loved them! I live in Russia & could not find matzo meal but bread crumbs worked perfectly fine. There were only three of us eating & I was afraid I'd made way too many (I just used all the potatoes we had in our home) but they were all instantly gone! Thank you very much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OchenVkusno

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Delicious latkes! The matzo meal is key; I made my own from some stale leftover matzos (just by grinding it up with a mortar and pestle into a rough flour-like consistency);I also added about 2 additional tbsps of matzo, bringing the total to 5 tbsps matzo. Additionally, I added a few dashes of ground pepper and fried them in unsalted butter. Light and crispy. Best latkes I've ever had (my husband agrees).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Wish I could give it 10 stars...they reminded me of the kind my Bobie use to make from scratch when I was a kid. I live in an area where I can't buy the "box" mix for potato latkes (which is what I usually do if my kids come to visit and bring them to me) and have been looking for a good recipe. This is it. I did change one thing though. I used Idaho potatoes and didn't shred any Yukon’s. Just used all the Idaho’s and mashed them up after I boiled them...so, so, good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These were great. I spent lots of time last Chanukkah (our first observance of the festival) looking through latke recipes. The matzah meal really makes the difference. These went very quickly at home and at oneg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made these twice for the holidays and both times people told me these were the best latkes they had ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My husband is Jewish and I am Italian. He was so impressed with these latkes and feels they were the best he has ever tasted in all of his year eating latkes! Quick and easy, especially with the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States