Potato Latkes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
These are not latkes. They are called chremslech. The difference is simple: latkes are always made with raw potatoes, chremslach with boiled potatoes. All that aside, the chremslech are better yet if you brown the onions prior to adding to mashed mixture. Use lots of ground pepper as a seasoning. You can also add a crushed garlic clove to the oil and remove it before it browns too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I have just tried this recipe for latkes, it is wonderful. The only difference for me is to shred the potatoes and not cook them first. I also add a couple of cloves of garlic to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
We LOVED this recipe. It was delicious. The latkes were fluffy, tasty and easy to make. This has become a Hanukkah staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Wish I could give it 10 stars...they reminded me of the kind my Bobie use to make from scratch when I was a kid. I live in an area where I can't buy the "box" mix for potato latkes (which is what I usually do if my kids come to visit and bring them to me) and have been looking for a good recipe. This is it. I did change one thing though. I used Idaho potatoes and didn't shred any Yukon’s. Just used all the Idaho’s and mashed them up after I boiled them...so, so, good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My husband is Jewish and I am Italian. He was so impressed with these latkes and feels they were the best he has ever tasted in all of his year eating latkes! Quick and easy, especially with the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These were great. I spent lots of time last Chanukkah (our first observance of the festival) looking through latke recipes. The matzah meal really makes the difference. These went very quickly at home and at oneg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
The latkes were tasty & will be my new favorite Hannuka recipe. They even freeze quite well, without too much loss in flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
Mine did not turn out light and fluffy. And the taste wasn't that great either. I was disappointed. I t could have been the recipe or the cook...i don't know...try 4 yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made these twice for the holidays and both times people told me these were the best latkes they had ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I added 2 cloves of garlic and substituted crushed crackers and some flower for the matzo meal. These both worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Needham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dresden, Sachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States