Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I used less salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
These were a hit! A teensy bit too eggy for what we were looking for, but overall delicious. I think I'd maybe just cut down the amount of egg slightly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Awesome! I added garlic and ground peppercorn medley and Johnny seasoning salt to mine. I also served turkey sausage with the meal and cooked some of the latkes in the droppings after adding canola oil. My husband talked about them the next morning. A great first potato dish for potato rookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Three stars because I had to make some changes. (My latkes came out great and tasty though.) Like what everyone else is saying, there is too much egg in this recipe. I mixed three eggs in with the other ingredients and thought to myself, "It seems too wet." So I diced up about another cup and half of potato to add in. Also, I added more onion. (I love onion so I diced up a small one and mixed it in.) Of course I added a little more flour. So my mix was about 3/4 potato and the rest was wet. I put in some salt and pepper and fried it up. (Hot oil makes all the difference, don't allow it to become tepid). It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I did shred the potatoes and grated the onions. No need for the cheesecloth. Just put the mixture between your hands and squeeze, letting all the moisture out. I also used 3 Tbs. grated onion, 1 egg, 3 Tbs. flour and fried it in half peanut oil and half canola oil. These have to be eaten as soon as they are off the frying pan and put on paper towls for a minute. Serve with Sour cream. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ukienomad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
So delicious! We made these for Christmas. Like others, I didn't have peanut oil and used oil I had (canola). I also didn't have a cheesecloth, so I used my hands to try to push out as much liquid as possible. I also used only 2 eggs as a binder and it worked well. Served with chives, grated cheese, bacon, and sour cream. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
These were delicious! Serving suggestion: Put a slice of avocado and a slice of tomato on top. Then on top of that, a fried/scrambled egg. FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
this was one of the best recipes ive ever used! i could eat these all day. i followed other users advice and used only 2 eggs, i also added more onion than called for, garlic, and shredded cheese. i used olive oil to fry them. turned out absolutely amazing. the only thing that could make this better is to add shredded zucchini to the mix, which i cant wait to do the next time i make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Tried this recipe as written. Too much salt, too much egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
GREAT recipe, and I've made a lot of latkes. Perfect consistency, although I quadrupled the quantities, and put in fewer eggs than listed here. I will use this again in the future, ALWAYS. Thanks for sharing, Rachel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States