Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I give this a five star because they really are so good. I've been making these for years, I've even added grated cheese and garlic to the mix. When I was growing up I used to think these were our very own family recipe. lol Thanks so much for bringing up an old favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used half the salt and it was perfect -- so I would recommend that -- but otherwise these were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used only 2 eggs and lots more onion! Instead of flour or matza meal I used Bisquick...about 3 tablespoons & they were scrumptious! Really hit the spot this Christmas morning. =) For toppings I used applesauce & if you use sour cream- cut up some chives & mix it in w/ the sour cream...YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Just use more onion, and you will love this. Try the peanut oil if you haven't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I put in less eggs too (2) and didn't strain the second batch, I put more onion in for favor. They are awesome with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Age

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
1.5 teaspoons of salt is too much. I would reduce the salt by about 50%. I have to dilute the pancakes with extra sour cream or apple sauce cuz it's too salty. Also, I do find it to be a bit eggy. I might reduce to about 1 egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Better than the ones my boyfriend's grandma makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Best, easiest recipe. I added a couple more spices, including Sazon. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Fouad, Bur Sa'id, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Reduced the number of eggs to two, and added black pepper. These were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These came out very salty. That may be my fault because I used frozen hash brown potatoes. Otherwise they were tasty and fried up quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States